This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for
Governor of Texas


19-Feb-1846 21-Dec-1847 Pinckney Henderson (b. 1808, d. 1858, Democrat)
21-Dec-1847 21-Dec-1849 George T. Wood (b. 1795, d. 1858, Democrat)
21-Dec-1849 23-Nov-1853 Peter Hansbrough Bell (b. 1810, d. 1898, Democrat)
23-Nov-1853 21-Dec-1853 James Wilson Henderson (acting, b. 1817, d. 1880, Democrat)
21-Dec-1853 21-Dec-1857 Elisha Marshall Pease (1st time, b. 1812, d. 1883, Democrat)
21-Dec-1857 21-Dec-1859 Hardin Richard Runnels (b. 1820, d. 1873, Democrat)
21-Dec-1859 16-Mar-1861 Sam Houston (Unionist)
16-Mar-1861 7-Nov-1861 Edward Clark (acting, b. 1815, d. 1880, Democrat)
7-Nov-1861 5-Nov-1863 Francis Richard Lubbock (b. 1815, d. 1905, Democrat)
5-Nov-1863 17-Jun-1865 Pendleton Murrah (b. 1824, d. 1865, Democrat)
17-Jun-1865 9-Aug-1866 Andrew Jackson Hamilton (b. 1815, d. 1875, Con)
9-Aug-1866 8-Aug-1867 James Webb Throckmorton (b. 1825, d. 1894, Con)
8-Aug-1867 30 Sep 1869 Elisha Marshall Pease (2nd time, Republican)
8-Jan-1870 15-Jan-1874 Edmund Jackson Davis (b. 1827, d. 1883, Republican)
15-Jan-1874 1-Dec-1876 Richard Coke (b. 1829, d. 1897, Democrat)
1-Dec-1876 21-Jan-1879 Richard Bennett Hubbard (b. 1832, d. 1901, Democrat)
21-Jan-1879 16-Jan-1883 Oran Milo Roberts (b. 1815, d. 1898, Democrat)
16-Jan-1883 18-Jan-1887 John Ireland (b. 1827, d. 1896, Democrat)
18-Jan-1887 20-Jan-1891 Lawrence Sullivan Ross (b. 1838, d. 1898, Democrat)
20-Jan-1891 15-Jan-1895 James Stephen Hogg (b. 1851, d. 1906, Democrat)
15-Jan-1895 17-Jan-1899 Charles Allen Culberson (b. 1855, d. 1925, Democrat)
17-Jan-1899 20-Jan-1903 Joseph Draper Sayers (b. 1841, d. 1929, Democrat)
20-Jan-1903 15-Jan-1907 Samuel W. T. Lanham (b. 1846, d. 1908, Democrat)
15-Jan-1907 17-Jan-1911 Thomas Mitchell Campbell (b. 1857, d. 1923, Democrat)
17-Jan-1911 19-Jan-1915 Oscar Branch Colquitt (b. 1861, d. 1940, Democrat)
19-Jan-1915 25-Aug-1917 James Edward Ferguson, Jr. (b. 1871, d. 1944, Democrat)
25-Aug-1917 18-Jan-1921 William Pettus Hobby (b. 1878, d. 1964, Democrat)
18-Jan-1921 20-Jan-1925 Patrick Morris Neff (b. 1871, d. 1952, Democrat)
20-Jan-1925 17-Jan-1927 Miriam Amanda Wallace Ferguson (1st time, b. 1875, d. 1961, Democrat)
17-Jan-1927 20-Jan-1931 Daniel James Moody, Jr. (b. 1893, d. 1966, Democrat)
20-Jan-1931 17-Jan-1933 Ross Shaw Sterling (b. 1875, d. 1949, Democrat)
17-Jan-1933 15-Jan-1935 Miriam Amanda Wallace Ferguson (2nd time, Democrat)
15-Jan-1935 17-Jan-1939 James Burr V. Allred (b. 1899, d. 1959, Democrat)
17-Jan-1939 4-Aug-1941 Wilbert Lee O'Daniel (b. 1890, d. 1969, Democrat)
4-Aug-1941 21-Jan-1947 Coke Robert Stevenson (b. 1888, d. 1975, Democrat)
21-Jan-1947 11-Jul-1949 Beauford Halbert Jester (b. 1893, d. 1949, Democrat)
11-Jul-1949 15-Jan-1957 Allan Shivers (b. 1907, d. 1985, Democrat)
15-Jan-1957 15-Jan-1963 Price Daniel (b. 1910, d. 1988, Democrat)
15-Jan-1963 21-Jan-1969 John Connally (b. 1917, d. 1993, Democrat)
21-Jan-1969 16-Jan-1973 Preston Smith (b. 1912, d. 2003, Democrat)
16-Jan-1973 16-Jan-1979 Dolph Briscoe (b. 1923, d. 2010, Democrat)
16-Jan-1979 18-Jan-1983 Bill Clements (1st time, b. 1917, Republican)
18-Jan-1983 20-Jan-1987 Mark White (b. 1940, Democrat)
20-Jan-1987 15-Jan-1991 Bill Clements (2nd time, Republican)
15-Jan-1991 17-Jan-1995 Ann Richards (b. 1933, d. 2006, Democrat)
17-Jan-1995 21-Dec-2000 George W. Bush (b. 1946, Republican)
21-Dec-2000 20-Jan-2015 Rick Perry (b. 1950, Republican)
20-Jan-2015 -- Greg Abbott (b. 1957, Republican)

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2016 Soylent Communications


Madonna's Sex Life

Requires Flash 7+ and Javascript.


NNDB has added thousands of bibliographies for people, organizations, schools, and general topics, listing more than 50,000 books and 120,000 other kinds of references. They may be accessed by the "Bibliography" tab at the top of most pages, or via the "Related Topics" box in the sidebar. Please feel free to suggest books that might be critical omissions.