This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for
US Secretary of Health, Education, and Welfare


In 1979, this office was split up:

1953 1955 Oveta Culp Hobby (under Dwight D. Eisenhower)
1955 1958 Marion B. Folsom (under Dwight D. Eisenhower)
1958 1961 Arthur S. Flemming (under Dwight D. Eisenhower)
1961 1962 Abraham Ribicoff (under John F. Kennedy)
1962 1965 Anthony J. Celebrezze (under John F. Kennedy and Lyndon B. Johnson)
1965 1968 John W. Gardner (under Lyndon B. Johnson)
1968 1969 Wilbur J. Cohen (under Lyndon B. Johnson)
1969 1970 Robert H. Finch (under Richard M. Nixon)
1970 1973 Elliot Richardson (under Richard M. Nixon)
1973 1975 Caspar Weinberger (under Richard M. Nixon and Gerald Ford)
1975 1977 F. David Mathews (under Gerald Ford)
1977 1979 Joseph Califano (under Jimmy Carter)
1979 1979 Patricia Roberts Harris (under Jimmy Carter)

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2016 Soylent Communications



Requires Flash 7+ and Javascript.


NNDB has added thousands of bibliographies for people, organizations, schools, and general topics, listing more than 50,000 books and 120,000 other kinds of references. They may be accessed by the "Bibliography" tab at the top of most pages, or via the "Related Topics" box in the sidebar. Please feel free to suggest books that might be critical omissions.