This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for
UK Home Secretary


27-Mar-1782 10-Jul-1782 William Petty 2nd Earl of Shelburne
10-Jul-1782 2-Apr-1783 Thomas Townshend  
19-Dec-1783 23-Dec-1783 George Nugent-Temple-Grenville 3rd Earl Temple
23-Dec-1783 5-Jun-1789 Thomas Townshend 1st Lord Sydney
5-Jun-1789 8-Jun-1791 William Wyndham Grenville 1st Lord Grenville
8-Jun-1791 11-Jul-1794 Henry Dundas  
11-Jul-1794 30-Jul-1801 William Henry Cavendish-Bentinck 3rd Duke of Portland
30-Jul-1801 17-Aug-1803 Thomas Pelham 1st Lord Pelham
17-Aug-1803 12-May-1804 Charles Philip Yorke  
12-May-1804 5-Feb-1806 Robert Banks Jenkinson Lord Hawkesbury
5-Feb-1806 25-Mar-1807 George John Spencer 2nd Earl Spencer
25-Mar-1807 1-Nov-1809 Robert Banks Jenkinson 2nd Earl of Liverpool
1-Nov-1809 8-Jun-1812 Richard Ryder  
11-Jun-1812 17-Jan-1822 Henry Addington 1st Viscount Sidmouth
17-Jan-1822 10-Apr-1827 Robert Peel  
30-Apr-1827 16-Jul-1827 William Sturges-Bourne  
16-Jul-1827 22-Jan-1828 Henry Petty-Fitzmaurice 3rd Marquess of Lansdowne
26-Jan-1828 22-Nov-1830 Robert Peel  
22-Nov-1830 16-Jul-1834 William Lamb 2nd Viscount Melbourne
19-Jul-1834 15-Nov-1834 John Ponsonby Viscount Duncannon
15-Nov-1834 15-Dec-1834 The Duke of Wellington Secretary of State pro tem
15-Dec-1834 18-Apr-1835 Henry Goulburn  
18-Apr-1835 30-Aug-1839 Lord John Russell  
30-Aug-1839 30-Aug-1841 Constantine Henry Phipps 1st Marquess of Normanby
6-Sep-1841 30-Jun-1846 Sir James Graham  
6-Jul-1846 23-Feb-1852 Sir George Grey  
27-Feb-1852 19-Dec-1852 Spencer Horatio Walpole  
28-Dec-1852 6-Feb-1855 Henry John Temple 3rd Viscount Palmerston
8-Feb-1855 26-Feb-1858 Sir George Grey  
26-Feb-1858 3-Mar-1859 Spencer Horatio Walpole  
3-Mar-1859 18-Jun-1859 Thomas Sotheron-Estcourt  
18-Jun-1859 25-Jul-1861 Sir George Cornewall Lewis  
25-Jul-1861 28-Jun-1866 Sir George Grey  
6-Jul-1866 17-May-1867 Spencer Horatio Walpole  
17-May-1867 3-Dec-1868 Gathorne Hardy  
9-Dec-1868 9-Aug-1873 Henry Austin Bruce  
9-Aug-1873 20-Feb-1874 Robert Lowe  
21-Feb-1874 23-Apr-1880 Sir Richard Assheton Cross  
28-Apr-1880 23-Jun-1885 Sir William Vernon Harcourt  
24-Jun-1885 1-Feb-1886 Sir Richard Assheton Cross  
6-Feb-1886 25-Jul-1886 Hugh Childers  
3-Aug-1886 15-Aug-1892 Henry Matthews  
18-Aug-1892 25-Jun-1895 Herbert Henry Asquith  
29-Jun-1895 12-Nov-1900 Sir Matthew White Ridley  
12-Nov-1900 12-Jul-1902 Charles Thomson Ritchie  
12-Jul-1902 5-Dec-1905 Aretas Akers-Douglas  
11-Dec-1905 19-Feb-1910 Herbert Gladstone  
19-Feb-1910 24-Oct-1911 Winston Churchill  
24-Oct-1911 27-May-1915 Reginald McKenna  
27-May-1915 12-Jan-1916 John Simon  
12-Jan-1916 7-Dec-1916 Herbert Samuel  
11-Dec-1916 14-Jan-1919 George Cave  
14-Jan-1919 23-Oct-1922 Edward Shortt  
25-Oct-1922 22-Jan-1924 William Bridgeman  
23-Jan-1924 4-Nov-1924 Arthur Henderson  
7-Nov-1924 5-Jun-1929 William Joynson-Hicks  
8-Jun-1929 26-Aug-1931 John Robert Clynes  
26-Aug-1931 1-Oct-1932 Herbert Samuel  
1-Oct-1932 7-Jun-1935 John Gilmour  
7-Jun-1935 28-May-1937 John Simon  
28-May-1937 3-Sep-1939 Samuel Hoare  
4-Sep-1939 4-Oct-1940 John Anderson  
4-Oct-1940 23-May-1945 Herbert Morrison  
25-May-1945 26-Jul-1945 Donald Somervell  
3-Aug-1945 26-Oct-1951 James Chuter Ede  
27-Oct-1951 19-Oct-1954 David Maxwell Fyfe  
19-Oct-1954 14-Jan-1957 Gwilym Lloyd George  
14-Jan-1957 13-Jul-1962 Rab Butler  
13-Jul-1962 16-Oct-1964 Henry Brooke  
18-Oct-1964 23-Dec-1965 Frank Soskice  
23-Dec-1965 30-Nov-1967 Roy Jenkins  
30-Nov-1967 19-Jun-1970 James Callaghan  
20-Jun-1970 18-Jul-1972 Reginald Maudling  
18-Jul-1972 4-Mar-1974 Robert Carr  
5-Mar-1974 10-Sep-1976 Roy Jenkins  
10-Sep-1976 4-May-1979 Merlyn Rees  
5-May-1979 11-Jun-1983 William Whitelaw  
11-Jun-1983 2-Sep-1985 Leon Brittan  
2-Sep-1985 26-Oct-1989 Douglas Hurd  
26-Oct-1989 28-Nov-1990 David Waddington  
28-Nov-1990 10-Apr-1992 Kenneth Baker  
10-Apr-1992 27-May-1993 Kenneth Clarke  
27-May-1993 2-May-1997 Michael Howard  
2-May-1997 8-Jun-2001 Jack Straw  
8-Jun-2001 15-Dec-2004 David Blunkett  
15-Dec-2004 5-May-2006 Charles Clarke  
5-May-2006 27-Jun-2007 John Reid  
28-Jun-2007 5-Jun-2009 Jacqui Smith  
5-Jun-2009 11-May-2010 Alan Johnson  
12-May-2010 13-Jul-2016 Theresa May  
13-Jul-2016 -- Amber Rudd  

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2017 Soylent Communications


Corporate Power Nexus

Requires Flash 7+ and Javascript.


NNDB has added thousands of bibliographies for people, organizations, schools, and general topics, listing more than 50,000 books and 120,000 other kinds of references. They may be accessed by the "Bibliography" tab at the top of most pages, or via the "Related Topics" box in the sidebar. Please feel free to suggest books that might be critical omissions.