This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for
Governor of Delaware


1638 1640 Peter Minuit (b. 1580, d. 1638)
1640   Jost van Bogardt (acting)
1640 Feb-1643 Peter Hollandaer Ridder  
Feb-1643 1653 Johan Björnsson Printz (b. 1592, d. 1663)
1653 1654 Johan Papegoya  
1654 1655 Johan Classon Rising (b. 1617, d. 1672)
29-Oct-1776 21-Feb-1777 John McKinly (with George Read, b. 1721, d. 1796)
21-Feb-1777 2-Apr-1778 John McKinly (held prisoner by British 3-Sep-1777)
22-Sep-1777 20-Oct-1777 Thomas McKean (acting, b. 1734, d. 1817)
20-Oct-1777 2-Apr-1778 George Read (acting)
2-Apr-1778 13-Nov-1781 Caesar Rodney  
13-Nov-1781 31-Jan-1783 John Dickinson (b. 1732, d. 1808)
31-Jan-1783 8-Feb-1783 John Cook (acting)
8-Feb-1783 27-Oct-1786 Nicholas Van Dyke (b. 1738, d. 1789)
27-Oct-1786 29-Mar-1789 Thomas Collins (b. 1732, d. 1789)
29-Mar-1789 2-Jun-1789 Jehu Davis (acting, b. 1740, d. 1802)
2-Jun-1789 1793 Joshua Clayton (b. 1744, d. 1798, Federalist)
1793 19-Jan-1796 Joshua Clayton (Federalist)
19-Jan-1796 28-Sep-1797 Gunning Bedford (b. 1742, d. 1797, Federalist)
28-Sep-1797 15-Jan-1799 Daniel Rogers (acting, b. 1754, d. 1806, Federalist)
15-Jan-1799 20-Feb-1801 Richard Bassett (b. 1745, d. 1815, Federalist)
4-Mar-1801 19-Jan-1802 James Sykes (acting, b. 1761, d. 1822, Federalist)
19-Jan-1802 15-Jan-1805 David Hall (b. 1752, d. 1817, Democrat-Republican)
15-Jan-1805 19-Jan-1808 Nathaniel Mitchell (b. 1752, d. 1815, Federalist)
19-Jan-1808 15-Jan-1811 George Truitt (b. 1756, d. 1818, Federalist)
15-Jan-1811 18-Jan-1814 Joseph Haslet (1st time, b. 1769, d. 1823, Democrat-Republican)
18-Jan-1814 21-Jan-1817 Daniel Rodney (b. 1764, d. 1846, Federalist)
21-Jan-1817 15-Jan-1820 John Clark (b. 1761, d. 1821, Federalist)
18-Jan-1820 16-Jan-1821 Jacob Stout (acting, b. 1764, d. 1855, Federalist)
16-Jan-1821 16-Apr-1822 John Collins (b. 1776, d. 1822, Democrat-Republican)
23-Apr-1822 21-Jan-1823 Caleb Rodney (acting, b. 1767, d. 1840, Federalist)
21-Jan-1823 20 Jun 1823 Joseph Haslet (2nd time, Democrat-Republican)
24 Jun 1823 20-Jan-1824 Charles Thomas (acting, b. 1790, d. 1848, Democrat-Republican)
20-Jan-1824 16-Jan-1827 Samuel Paynter (b. 1768, d. 1845, Federalist)
16-Jan-1827 19-Jan-1830 Charles Polk (1st time, b. 1788, d. 1857, Federalist)
19-Jan-1830 15-Jan-1833 David Hazzard (b. 1781, d. 1864, A-R)
15-Jan-1833 11-Jul-1836 Caleb P. Bennett (b. 1758, d. 1836, Democrat)
11-Jul-1836 17-Jan-1837 Charles Polk (2nd time, acting, Whig)
17-Jan-1837 19-Jan-1841 Cornelius P. Comegys (b. 1780, d. 1851, Whig)
19-Jan-1841 21-Jan-1845 William B. Cooper (b. 1771, d. 1849, Whig)
21-Jan-1845 2-Mar-1846 Thomas Stockton (b. 1781, d. 1846, Whig)
2-Mar-1846 3-May-1846 Joseph Maull (acting, b. 1781, d. 1846, Whig)
6-May-1846 19-Jan-1847 William Temple (acting, b. 1814, d. 1863, Whig)
19-Jan-1847 21-Jan-1851 William Tharp (b. 1803, d. 1865, Democrat)
21-Jan-1851 16-Jan-1855 William H. Ross (b. 1814, d. 1877, Democrat)
16-Jan-1855 18-Jan-1859 Peter Causey (b. 1801, d. 1871, Know-Nothing)
18-Jan-1859 20-Jan-1863 William Burton (b. 1789, d. 1866, Democrat)
20-Jan-1863 1-Mar-1865 William Cannon (b. 1809, d. 1865, Uni)
1-Mar-1865 17-Jan-1871 Gove Saulsbury (b. 1815, d. 1881, Democrat)
17-Jan-1871 19-Jan-1875 James Ponder (b. 1819, d. 1897, Democrat)
19-Jan-1875 21-Jan-1879 John Polk Cochran (b. 1809, d. 1898, Democrat)
21-Jan-1879 16-Jan-1883 John W. Hall (b. 1817, d. 1892, Democrat)
16-Jan-1883 18-Jan-1887 Charles C. Stockley (b. 1819, d. 1901, Democrat)
18-Jan-1887 20-Jan-1891 Benjamin T. Biggs (b. 1821, d. 1893, Democrat)
20-Jan-1891 15-Jan-1895 Robert J. Reynolds (b. 1838, d. 1909, Democrat)
15-Jan-1895 8-Apr-1895 Joshua H. Marvil (b. 1825, d. 1895, Republican)
8-Apr-1895 19-Jan-1897 William T. Watson (acting, b. 1849, d. 1917, Democrat)
19-Jan-1897 15-Jan-1901 Ebe W. Tunnell (b. 1844, d. 1917, Democrat)
15-Jan-1901 17-Jan-1905 John Hunn (b. 1849, d. 1926, Republican)
17-Jan-1905 19-Jan-1909 Preston Lea (b. 1841, d. 1916, Republican)
19-Jan-1909 21-Jan-1913 Simeon S. Pennewill (b. 1867, d. 1935, Republican)
21-Jan-1913 16-Jan-1917 Charles Robert Miller (b. 1857, d. 1927, Republican)
16-Jan-1917 18-Jan-1921 John G. Townsend, Jr. (b. 1871, d. 1964, Republican)
18-Jan-1921 20-Jan-1925 William D. Denney (b. 1873, d. 1953, Republican)
20-Jan-1925 15-Jan-1929 Robert Pyle Robinson (b. 1869, d. 1939, Republican)
15-Jan-1929 19-Jan-1937 C. Douglass Buck (b. 1890, d. 1965, Republican)
19-Jan-1937 21-Jan-1941 R.C. McMullen (b. 1868, d. 1944, Democrat)
21-Jan-1941 18-Jan-1949 Walter Wolfkiel Bacon (b. 1880, d. 1962, Republican)
18-Jan-1949 20-Jan-1953 Elbert N. Carvel (1st time, b. 1910, d. 2005, Democrat)
20-Jan-1953 18 Dec 1960 J. Caleb Boggs (b. 1909, d. 1993, Republican)
30 Dec 1960 17-Jan-1961 David P. Buckson (acting, b. 1920, Republican)
17-Jan-1961 19-Jan-1965 Elbert N. Carvel (2nd time, Democrat)
19-Jan-1965 21-Jan-1969 Charles L. Terry, Jr. (b. 1900, d. 1970, Democrat)
21-Jan-1969 16-Jan-1973 Russell W. Peterson (b. 1916, d. 2011, Republican)
16-Jan-1973 18-Jan-1977 Sherman W. Tribbitt (b. 1922, d. 2010, Democrat)
18-Jan-1977 15-Jan-1985 Pete du Pont (b. 1935, Republican)
15-Jan-1985 31 Dec 1992 Mike Castle (b. 1939, Republican)
31 Dec 1992 19-Jan-1993 Dale E. Wolf (b. 1924, Republican)
19-Jan-1993 3-Jan-2001 Thomas Carper (b. 1947, Democrat)
3-Jan-2001 20-Jan-2009 Ruth Ann Minner (b. 1935, Democrat)
20-Jan-2009 -- Jack A. Markell (b. 1960, Democrat)

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2016 Soylent Communications


Yanqui UXO

Requires Flash 7+ and Javascript.


NNDB has added thousands of bibliographies for people, organizations, schools, and general topics, listing more than 50,000 books and 120,000 other kinds of references. They may be accessed by the "Bibliography" tab at the top of most pages, or via the "Related Topics" box in the sidebar. Please feel free to suggest books that might be critical omissions.