This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for

Governor of New Jersey


1738 21-May-1746 Lewis Morris (b. 1671, d. 1746)
21-May-1746 1746 John Hamilton (acting, d. 1746)
1747   John Reading (1st time, acting, b. 1686, d. 1767)
1747 31-Aug-1757 Jonathan Belcher (b. 1682, d. 1757)
1757   Thomas Pownall (acting, b. 1722, d. 1805)
31-Aug-1757 1758 John Reading (2nd time, acting)
1758 1760 Sir Francis Bernard (b. 1712, d. 1779)
1760 1761 Thomas Boone (d.)
1761 1762 Josiah Hardy (d.)
1762 Jun-1776 William Franklin (b. 1731, d. 1813)
27-Aug-1776 25-Jul-1790 William Livingston (b. 1723, d. 1790, Federalist)
25-Jul-1790 30-Oct-1790 Elisha Lawrence (b. 1746, d. 1799, Federalist)
30-Oct-1790 4-Mar-1793 William Paterson (b. 1745, d. 1806, Federalist)
30-Mar-1793 3-Jun-1793 Thomas Henderson (b. 1743, d. 1824)
3-Jun-1793 31-Oct-1801 Richard Howell (b. 1754, d. 1802, Federalist)
31-Oct-1801 28-Oct-1802 Joseph Bloomfield (1st time, b. 1753, d. 1823, Democrat)
15-Nov-1802 29-Oct-1803 John Lambert (acting, b. 1746, d. 1823, Democrat)
29-Oct-1803 29-Oct-1812 Joseph Bloomfield (2nd time, Democrat)
29-Oct-1812 29-Oct-1813 Aaron Ogden (b. 1756, d. 1839, Federalist)
29-Oct-1813 19-Jun-1815 William S. Pennington (b. 1757, d. 1826, Democrat)
19-Jun-1815 25-Oct-1815 William Kennedy (b. c.1775, d. 1826, Democrat)
26-Oct-1815 1-Feb-1817 Mahlon Dickerson (b. 1770, d. 1853, Democrat)
6-Feb-1817 30-Oct-1829 Isaac H. Williamson (b. 1767, d. 1845, Federalist)
6-Nov-1829 26-Oct-1832 Peter D. Vroom (1st time, b. 1791, d. 1873, Democrat)
26-Oct-1832 27-Feb-1833 Samuel L. Southard (b. 1787, d. 1842, Whig)
27-Feb-1833 23-Oct-1833 Elias P. Seeley (b. 1791, d. 1846, Whig)
25-Oct-1833 28-Oct-1836 Peter D. Vroom (2nd time, Democrat)
3-Nov-1836 27-Oct-1837 Philemon Dickerson (b. 1788, d. 1862, Democrat)
27-Oct-1837 27-Oct-1843 William Pennington (b. 1796, d. 1862, Whig)
27-Oct-1843 21-Jan-1845 Daniel Haines (1st time, b. 1801, d. 1877, Democrat)
21-Jan-1845 18-Jan-1848 Charles C. Stratton (b. 1796, d. 1859, Whig)
18-Jan-1848 20-Jan-1851 Daniel Haines (2nd time, Democrat)
21-Jan-1851 17-Jan-1854 George F. Fort (b. 1809, d. 1872, Democrat)
17-Jan-1854 20-Jan-1857 Rodman M. Price (b. 1816, d. 1894, Democrat)
20-Jan-1857 17-Jan-1860 William A. Newell (b. 1817, d. 1901, Republican)
17-Jan-1860 20-Jan-1863 Charles S. Olden (b. 1799, d. 1876, Republican)
20-Jan-1863 16-Jan-1866 Joel Parker (1st time, b. 1816, d. 1888, Democrat)
16-Jan-1866 19-Jan-1869 Marcus L. Ward (b. 1812, d. 1884, Republican)
19-Jan-1869 16-Jan-1872 Theodore F. Randolph (b. 1826, d. 1883, Democrat)
16-Jan-1872 19-Jan-1875 Joel Parker (2nd time, Democrat)
19-Jan-1875 15-Jan-1878 Joseph D. Bedle (b. 1821, d. 1894, Democrat)
15-Jan-1878 18-Jan-1881 George B. McClellan (b. 1826, d. 1885, Democrat)
18-Jan-1881 15-Jan-1884 George C. Ludlow (b. 1830, d. 1900, Democrat)
15-Jan-1884 18-Jan-1887 Leon Abbett (1st time, b. 1836, d. 1894, Democrat)
18-Jan-1887 21-Jan-1890 Robert S. Green (b. 1831, d. 1895, Democrat)
21-Jan-1890 17-Jan-1893 Leon Abbett (2nd time, Democrat)
17-Jan-1893 21-Jan-1896 George T. Werts (b. 1846, d. 1910, Democrat)
21-Jan-1896 31-Jan-1898 John W. Griggs (b. 1849, d. 1927, Republican)
1-Feb-1898 18-Oct-1898 Foster M. Voorhees (1st time, acting, b. 1856, d. 1927, Republican)
18-Oct-1898 16-Jan-1899 David O. Watkins (acting, b. 1862, d. 1938, Republican)
21-Jan-1899 21-Jan-1902 Foster M. Voorhees (2nd time, Republican)
21-Jan-1902 17-Jan-1905 Franklin Murphy (b. 1846, d. 1920, Republican)
17-Jan-1905 21-Jan-1908 Edward C. Stokes (b. 1860, d. 1942, Republican)
21-Jan-1908 17-Jan-1911 John Franklin Fort (b. 1852, d. 1920, Republican)
17-Jan-1911 1-Mar-1913 Woodrow Wilson (b. 1856, d. 1924, Democrat)
1-Mar-1913 28-Oct-1913 James F. Fielder (1st time, acting, b. 1867, d. 1954, Democrat)
28-Oct-1913 20-Jan-1914 Leon R. Taylor (acting, b. 1883, d. 1924, Democrat)
20-Jan-1914 15-Jan-1917 James F. Fielder (2nd time, Democrat)
15-Jan-1917 16-May-1919 Walter E. Edge (1st time, b. 1873, d. 1956, Republican)
16-May-1919 13-Jan-1920 William N. Runyon (acting, b. 1871, d. 1931, Republican)
13-Jan-1920 20-Jan-1920 Clarence E. Case (acting, b. 1877, d. 1961, Republican)
20-Jan-1920 15-Jan-1923 Edward I. Edwards (b. 1863, d. 1931, Democrat)
15-Jan-1923 19-Jan-1926 George S. Silzer (b. 1870, d. 1940, Democrat)
19-Jan-1926 15-Jan-1929 A. Harry Moore (1st time, b. 1879, d. 1952, Democrat)
15-Jan-1929 19-Jan-1932 Morgan F. Larson (b. 1882, d. 1961, Republican)
19-Jan-1932 3-Jan-1935 A. Harry Moore (2nd time, Democrat)
3-Jan-1935 8-Jan-1935 Clifford Ross Powell (acting, b. 1893, d. 1973, Republican)
8-Jan-1935 15-Jan-1935 Horace Griggs Prall (acting, b. 1881, d. 1951, Republican)
15-Jan-1935 18-Jan-1938 Harold G. Hoffman (b. 1896, d. 1954, Republican)
18-Jan-1938 21-Jan-1941 A. Harry Moore (3rd time, Democrat)
21-Jan-1941 18-Jan-1944 Charles Edison (b. 1890, d. 1969, Democrat)
18-Jan-1944 21-Jan-1947 Walter E. Edge (2nd time, Republican)
21-Jan-1947 19-Jan-1954 Alfred E. Driscoll (b. 1902, d. 1975, Republican)
19-Jan-1954 16-Jan-1962 Robert B. Meyner (b. 1908, d. 1990, Democrat)
16-Jan-1962 20-Jan-1970 Richard J. Hughes (b. 1909, d. 1992, Democrat)
20-Jan-1970 15-Jan-1974 William T. Cahill (b. 1912, d. 1996, Republican)
15-Jan-1974 19-Jan-1982 Brendan T. Byrne (b. 1924, Democrat)
19-Jan-1982 16-Jan-1990 Thomas H. Kean (b. 1935, Republican)
16-Jan-1990 18-Jan-1994 James Florio (b. 1937, Democrat)
18-Jan-1994 31-Jan-2001 Christine Todd Whitman (b. 1946, Republican)
31-Jan-2001 8-Jan-2002 Donald T. DiFrancesco (acting, b. 1944, Republican)
8-Jan-2002 8-Jan-2002 John J. Farmer, Jr. (acting, b. 1957, Republican)
8-Jan-2002 12-Jan-2002 John O. Bennett (acting, b. 1948, Republican)
12-Jan-2002 15-Jan-2002 Richard J. Codey (acting, b. 1946, Democrat)
15-Jan-2002 15-Nov-2004 James McGreevey (b. 1957, Democrat)
15-Nov-2004 17-Jan-2006 Richard J. Codey (b. 1946, Democrat)
17-Jan-2006 19-Jan-2010 Jon Corzine (b. 1947, Democrat)
19-Jan-2010 -- Christopher J. Christie (b. 1962, Republican)

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2016 Soylent Communications


Buffalo Bills

Requires Flash 7+ and Javascript.


NNDB has added thousands of bibliographies for people, organizations, schools, and general topics, listing more than 50,000 books and 120,000 other kinds of references. They may be accessed by the "Bibliography" tab at the top of most pages, or via the "Related Topics" box in the sidebar. Please feel free to suggest books that might be critical omissions.