This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for
Governor of Vermont


13-Mar-1778 13-Oct-1789 Thomas Chittenden (1st time, b. 1730, d. 1797)
13-Oct-1789 20-Oct-1790 Moses Robinson (b. 1741, d. 1813)
20-Oct-1790 25-Aug-1797 Thomas Chittenden (2nd time)
25-Aug-1797 16-Oct-1797 Paul Brigham (acting, b. 1746, d. 1824)
16-Oct-1797 9-Oct-1807 Isaac Tichenor (1st time, b. 1754, d. 1838, Federalist)
9-Oct-1807 14-Oct-1808 Israel Smith (b. 1759, d. 1810, Democrat-Republican)
14-Oct-1808 14-Oct-1809 Isaac Tichenor (2nd time, Federalist)
14-Oct-1809 23-Oct-1813 Jonas Galusha (1st time, b. 1753, d. 1834, Democrat-Republican)
23-Oct-1813 14-Oct-1815 Martin Chittenden (b. 1769, d. 1840, Federalist)
14-Oct-1815 23-Oct-1820 Jonas Galusha (2nd time, Democrat-Republican)
23-Oct-1820 10-Oct-1823 Richard Skinner (b. 1778, d. 1833, Democrat-Republican)
10-Oct-1823 13-Oct-1826 Cornelius P. Van Ness (b. 1782, d. 1852, Democrat-Republican)
13-Oct-1826 10-Oct-1828 Ezra Butler (b. 1763, d. 1838, National Republican)
10-Oct-1828 18-Oct-1831 Samuel C. Crafts (b. 1768, d. 1853, National Republican)
18-Oct-1831 2-Nov-1835 William A. Palmer (b. 1781, d. 1860, Anti-Masonic)
2-Nov-1835 15-Oct-1841 Silas H. Jennison (b. 1791, d. 1849, Whig)
15-Oct-1841 13-Oct-1843 Charles Paine (b. 1799, d. 1853, Whig)
13-Oct-1843 11-Oct-1844 John Mattocks (b. 1777, d. 1847, Whig)
11-Oct-1844 9-Oct-1846 William Slade (b. 1786, d. 1859, Whig)
9-Oct-1846 Oct-1848 Horace Eaton (b. 1804, d. 1855, Whig)
Oct-1848 11-Oct-1850 Carlos Coolidge (b. 1792, d. 1866, Whig)
11-Oct-1850 Oct-1852 Charles K. Williams (b. 1782, d. 1853, Whig)
Oct-1852 Oct-1853 Erastus Fairbanks (1st time, b. 1792, d. 1864, Whig)
Oct-1853 13-Oct-1854 John S. Robinson (b. 1804, d. 1860, Democrat)
13-Oct-1854 10-Oct-1856 Stephen Royce (b. 1787, d. 1868, Republican)
10-Oct-1856 10-Oct-1858 Ryland Fletcher (b. 1799, d. 1885, Republican)
10-Oct-1858 12-Oct-1860 Hiland Hall (b. 1795, d. 1885, Republican)
12-Oct-1860 11-Oct-1861 Erastus Fairbanks (2nd time, Republican)
11-Oct-1861 9-Oct-1863 Frederick Holbrook (b. 1813, d. 1909, Republican)
9-Oct-1863 13-Oct-1865 John Gregory Smith (b. 1818, d. 1891, Republican)
13-Oct-1865 13-Oct-1867 Paul Dillingham (b. 1799, d. 1891, Republican)
13-Oct-1867 15-Oct-1869 John B. Page (b. 1826, d. 1885, Republican)
15-Oct-1869 7-Feb-1870 Peter T. Washburn (b. 1814, d. 1870, Republican)
7-Feb-1870 6-Oct-1870 George W. Hendee (acting, b. 1832, d. 1906, Republican)
6-Oct-1870 3-Oct-1872 John W. Stewart (b. 1825, d. 1915, Republican)
3-Oct-1872 8-Oct-1874 Julius Converse (b. 1798, d. 1885, Republican)
8-Oct-1874 5-Oct-1876 Asahel Peck (b. 1803, d. 1879, Republican)
5-Oct-1876 3-Oct-1878 Horace Fairbanks (b. 1820, d. 1888, Republican)
3-Oct-1878 7-Oct-1880 Redfield Proctor (b. 1831, d. 1908, Republican)
7-Oct-1880 5-Oct-1882 Roswell Farnham (b. 1827, d. 1903, Republican)
5-Oct-1882 2-Oct-1884 John L. Barstow (b. 1832, d. 1913, Republican)
2-Oct-1884 7-Oct-1886 Samuel E. Pingree (b. 1832, d. 1922, Republican)
7-Oct-1886 4-Oct-1888 Ebenezer J. Ormsbee (b. 1834, d. 1924, Republican)
4-Oct-1888 2-Oct-1890 William P. Dillingham (b. 1843, d. 1923, Republican)
2-Oct-1890 6-Oct-1892 Carroll S. Page (b. 1843, d. 1925, Republican)
6-Oct-1892 4-Oct-1894 Levi K. Fuller (b. 1841, d. 1896, Republican)
4-Oct-1894 8-Oct-1896 Urban A. Woodbury (b. 1838, d. 1915, Republican)
8-Oct-1896 6-Oct-1898 Josiah Grout (b. 1841, d. 1925, Republican)
6-Oct-1898 4-Oct-1900 Edward C. Smith (b. 1854, d. 1923, Republican)
4-Oct-1900 3-Oct-1902 William W. Stickney (b. 1853, d. 1932, Republican)
3-Oct-1902 6-Oct-1904 John G. McCullough (b. 1835, d. 1915, Republican)
6-Oct-1904 4-Oct-1906 Charles J. Bell (b. 1845, d. 1909, Republican)
4-Oct-1906 8-Oct-1908 Fletcher D. Proctor (b. 1860, d. 1911, Republican)
8-Oct-1908 5-Oct-1910 George H. Prouty (b. 1862, d. 1918, Republican)
5-Oct-1910 3-Oct-1912 John A. Mead (b. 1841, d. 1920, Republican)
3-Oct-1912 7-Jan-1915 Allen M. Fletcher (b. 1853, d. 1922, Republican)
7-Jan-1915 4-Jan-1917 Charles W. Gates (b. 1856, d. 1927, Republican)
4-Jan-1917 9-Jan-1919 Horace F. Graham (b. 1862, d. 1941, Republican)
9-Jan-1919 6-Jan-1921 Percival W. Clement (b. 1846, d. 1927, Republican)
6-Jan-1921 4-Jan-1923 James Hartness (b. 1861, d. 1934, Republican)
4-Jan-1923 8-Jan-1925 Redfield Proctor (b. 1879, d. 1957, Republican)
8-Jan-1925 6-Jan-1927 Franklin S. Billings (b. 1862, d. 1935, Republican)
6-Jan-1927 8-Jan-1931 John E. Weeks (b. 1853, d. 1949, Republican)
8-Jan-1931 10-Jan-1935 Stanley C. Wilson (b. 1879, d. 1967, Republican)
10-Jan-1935 7-Jan-1937 Charles M. Smith (b. 1868, d. 1937, Republican)
7-Jan-1937 9-Jan-1941 George Aiken (b. 1892, d. 1984, Republican)
9-Jan-1941 4-Jan-1945 William H. Wills (b. 1882, d. 1946, Republican)
4-Jan-1945 9-Jan-1947 Mortimer R. Proctor (b. 1889, d. 1968, Republican)
9-Jan-1947 16-Jan-1950 Ernest W. Gibson (b. 1901, d. 1969, Republican)
16-Jan-1950 4-Jan-1951 Harold J. Arthur (b. 1904, d. 1971, Republican)
4-Jan-1951 6-Jan-1955 Lee E. Emerson (b. 1898, d. 1976, Republican)
6-Jan-1955 8-Jan-1959 Joseph B. Johnson (b. 1893, d. 1986, Republican)
8-Jan-1959 5-Jan-1961 Robert T. Stafford (b. 1913, Republican)
5-Jan-1961 10-Jan-1963 F. Ray Keyser, Jr. (b. 1927, d. 2015, Republican)
10-Jan-1963 9-Jan-1969 Philip H. Hoff (b. 1924, Democrat)
9-Jan-1969 4-Jan-1973 Deane C. Davis (b. 1900, d. 1990, Republican)
4-Jan-1973 6-Jan-1977 Thomas P. Salmon (b. 1932, Democrat)
6-Jan-1977 10-Jan-1985 Richard A. Snelling (1st time, b. 1927, d. 1991, Republican)
10-Jan-1985 10-Jan-1991 Madeleine M. Kunin (b. 1933, Democrat)
10-Jan-1991 14-Aug-1991 Richard A. Snelling (2nd time, Republican)
14-Aug-1991 8-Jan-2003 Howard Dean (b. 1948, Democrat)
8-Jan-2003 6-Jan-2011 James Douglas (b. 1951, Republican)
6-Jan-2011 -- Peter Shumlin (b. 1956, Democrat)

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2016 Soylent Communications


Theocracy Now!

Requires Flash 7+ and Javascript.


NNDB has added thousands of bibliographies for people, organizations, schools, and general topics, listing more than 50,000 books and 120,000 other kinds of references. They may be accessed by the "Bibliography" tab at the top of most pages, or via the "Related Topics" box in the sidebar. Please feel free to suggest books that might be critical omissions.