This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for
Governor of Kansas


Governor of Kansas.

For governors prior to statehood, see Governor of Kansas Territory.

17-Dec-1860 9-Feb-1861 George Monroe Beebe (acting) Democrat
9-Feb-1861 12-Jan-1863 Charles Robinson Republican
12-Jan-1863 9-Jan-1865 Thomas Carney Republican
9-Jan-1865 4-Nov-1868 Samuel Johnson Crawford Republican
4-Nov-1868 11-Jan-1869 Nehemiah Green Republican
11-Jan-1869 13-Jan-1873 James Madison Harvey Republican
13-Jan-1873 8-Jan-1877 Thomas Andrew Osborn Republican
8-Jan-1877 13-Jan-1879 George Tobey Anthony Republican
13-Jan-1879 8-Jan-1883 John Pierce St. John Republican
8-Jan-1883 12-Jan-1885 George Washington Glick Democrat
12-Jan-1885 14-Jan-1889 John Alexander Martin Republican
14-Jan-1889 9-Jan-1893 Lyman Underwood Humphrey Republican
9-Jan-1893 14-Jan-1895 Lorenzo Dow Lewelling Democrat
14-Jan-1895 11-Jan-1897 Edmund Needham Morrill Republican
11-Jan-1897 9-Jan-1899 John Weedham Leedy Democrat
9-Jan-1899 12-Jan-1903 William Eugene Stanley Republican
12-Jan-1903 9-Jan-1905 Willis Joshua Bailey Republican
9-Jan-1905 11-Jan-1909 Edward Wallis Hoch Republican
11-Jan-1909 13-Jan-1913 Walter Roscoe Stubbs Republican
13-Jan-1913 11-Jan-1915 George Hartshorn Hodges Democrat
11-Jan-1915 13-Jan-1919 Arthur Capper Republican
13-Jan-1919 8-Jan-1923 Henry Justin Allen Republican
8-Jan-1923 12-Jan-1925 Jonathan M. Davis Democrat
12-Jan-1925 14-Jan-1929 Benjamin S. Paulen Republican
14-Jan-1929 12-Jan-1931 Clyde M. Reed Republican
12-Jan-1931 9-Jan-1933 Harry H. Woodring Democrat
9-Jan-1933 11-Jan-1937 Alf Landon Republican
11-Jan-1937 9-Jan-1939 Walter A. Huxman Democrat
9-Jan-1939 11-Jan-1943 Payne Ratner Republican
11-Jan-1943 13-Jan-1947 Andrew F. Schoeppel Republican
13-Jan-1947 28-Nov-1950 Frank Carlson Republican
28-Nov-1950 8-Jan-1951 Frank L. Hagaman Republican
8-Jan-1951 10-Jan-1955 Edward F. Arn Republican
10-Jan-1955 3-Jan-1957 Fred Hall Republican
3-Jan-1957 14-Jan-1957 John McCuish Republican
14-Jan-1957 9-Jan-1961 George Docking Democrat
9-Jan-1961 11-Jan-1965 John Anderson, Jr. Republican
11-Jan-1965 9-Jan-1967 William H. Avery Republican
9-Jan-1967 13-Jan-1975 Robert Docking Democrat
13-Jan-1975 8-Jan-1979 Robert F. Bennett Republican
8-Jan-1979 12-Jan-1987 John W. Carlin Democrat
12-Jan-1987 14-Jan-1991 Mike Hayden Republican
14-Jan-1991 9-Jan-1995 Joan Finney Democrat
9-Jan-1995 13-Jan-2003 Bill Graves Republican
13-Jan-2003 28-Apr-2009 Kathleen Sebelius Democrat
28-Apr-2009 10-Jan-2011 Mark Parkinson Democrat
10-Jan-2011 -- Sam Brownback Republican

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2016 Soylent Communications



Requires Flash 7+ and Javascript.


NNDB has added thousands of bibliographies for people, organizations, schools, and general topics, listing more than 50,000 books and 120,000 other kinds of references. They may be accessed by the "Bibliography" tab at the top of most pages, or via the "Related Topics" box in the sidebar. Please feel free to suggest books that might be critical omissions.