This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for
Governor of Tennessee


1790 1796 William Blount (b. 1749, d. 1800)
30-Mar-1796 23-Sep-1801 John Sevier (1st time, b. 1745, d. 1815, Democrat-Republican)
23-Sep-1801 23-Sep-1803 Archibald Roane (b. 1760, d. 1819, Democrat-Republican)
23-Sep-1803 20-Sep-1809 John Sevier (2nd time, Democrat-Republican)
20-Sep-1809 27-Sep-1815 Willie Blount (b. 1768, d. 1835, Democrat-Republican)
27-Sep-1815 1-Oct-1821 Joseph McMinn (b. 1758, d. 1854, Democrat-Republican)
1-Oct-1821 1-Oct-1827 William Carroll (1st time, b. 1788, d. 1844, Democrat-Republican)
1-Oct-1827 16-Apr-1829 Sam Houston (b. 1793, d. 1863, Democrat-Republican)
16-Apr-1829 1-Oct-1829 William Hall (acting, b. 1775, d. 1856, Democrat)
1-Oct-1829 12-Oct-1835 William Carroll (2nd time, Democrat)
12-Oct-1835 14-Oct-1839 Newton Cannon (b. 1781, d. 1841, Democrat)
14-Oct-1839 15-Oct-1841 James Knox Polk (b. 1795, d. 1849, Democrat)
15-Oct-1841 14-Oct-1845 James C. Jones (b. 1809, d. 1859, Whig)
14-Oct-1845 17-Oct-1847 Aaron V. Brown (b. 1795, d. 1859, Democrat)
17-Oct-1847 16-Oct-1849 Neill S. Brown (b. 1810, d. 1886, Whig)
16-Oct-1849 16-Oct-1851 William Trousdale (b. 1790, d. 1872, Democrat)
16-Oct-1851 17-Oct-1853 William B. Campbell (b. 1807, d. 1867, Whig)
17-Oct-1853 3-Nov-1857 Andrew Johnson (1st time, b. 1808, d. 1875, Democrat)
3-Nov-1857 12-Mar-1862 Isham Green Harris (b. 1818, d. 1897, Democrat)
1862 1864 Isham Green Harris (as Confederate Governor)
12-Mar-1862 4-Mar-1865 Andrew Johnson (2nd time, Military Governor)
4-Mar-1865 5-Apr-1865 Edward Hazzard East (acting, b. 1830, d. 1904)
5-Apr-1865 25-Feb-1869 William G. Brownlow (b. 1805, d. 1877, Republican)
25-Feb-1869 10-Oct-1871 DeWitt C. Senter (b. 1830, d. 1898, Republican)
10-Oct-1871 18-Jan-1875 John C. Brown (b. 1827, d. 1889, Democrat)
18-Jan-1875 16-Feb-1879 James D. Porter (b. 1828, d. 1912, Democrat)
16-Feb-1879 17-Jan-1881 Albert S. Marks (b. 1836, d. 1891, Democrat)
17-Jan-1881 15-Jan-1883 Alvin Hawkins (b. 1821, d. 1905, Republican)
15-Jan-1883 17-Jan-1887 William B. Bate (b. 1826, d. 1905, Democrat)
17-Jan-1887 19-Jan-1891 Robert L. Taylor (1st time, b. 1850, d. 1912, Democrat)
19-Jan-1891 16-Jan-1893 John P. Buchanan (b. 1847, d. 1930, Democrat)
16-Jan-1893 21-Jan-1897 Peter Turney (b. 1827, d. 1903, Democrat)
21-Jan-1897 16-Jan-1899 Robert L. Taylor (2nd time, Democrat)
16-Jan-1899 19-Jan-1903 Benton McMillin (b. 1845, d. 1933, Democrat)
19-Jan-1903 21-Mar-1905 James B. Frazier (b. 1856, d. 1937, Democrat)
21-Mar-1905 17-Jan-1907 John I. Cox (b. 1855, d. 1946, Democrat)
17-Jan-1907 26-Jan-1911 Malcolm R. Patterson (b. 1861, d. 1935, Democrat)
26-Jan-1911 17-Jan-1915 Ben W. Hooper (b. 1870, d. 1957, Republican)
17-Jan-1915 15-Jan-1919 Thomas C. Rye (b. 1863, d. 1953, Democrat)
15-Jan-1919 15-Jan-1921 Albert H. Roberts (b. 1868, d. 1946, Democrat)
15-Jan-1921 16-Jan-1923 Alfred A. Taylor (b. 1848, d. 1931, Republican)
16-Jan-1923 2-Oct-1927 Austin Peay (b. 1876, d. 1927, Democrat)
3-Oct-1927 17-Jan-1933 Henry H. Horton (b. 1866, d. 1934, Democrat)
17-Jan-1933 15-Jan-1937 Hill McAlister (b. 1875, d. 1959, Democrat)
15-Jan-1937 16-Jan-1939 Gordon Browning (1st time, b. 1889, d. 1976, Democrat)
16-Jan-1939 16-Jan-1945 Prentice Cooper (b. 1895, d. 1969, Democrat)
16-Jan-1945 17-Jan-1949 Jim Nance McCord (b. 1879, d. 1968, Democrat)
17-Jan-1949 15-Jan-1953 Gordon Browning (2nd time, Democrat)
15-Jan-1953 19-Jan-1959 Frank G. Clement (1st time, b. 1920, d. 1969, Democrat)
19-Jan-1959 15-Jan-1963 Buford Ellington (1st time, b. 1907, d. 1972, Democrat)
15-Jan-1963 16-Jan-1967 Frank G. Clement (2nd time, Democrat)
16-Jan-1967 16-Jan-1971 Buford Ellington (2nd time, Democrat)
16-Jan-1971 18-Jan-1975 Winfield Dunn (b. 1927, Republican)
18-Jan-1975 17-Jan-1979 Ray Blanton (b. 1930, d. 1996, Democrat)
17-Jan-1979 17-Jan-1987 Lamar Alexander (b. 1940, Republican)
17-Jan-1987 21-Jan-1995 Ned McWherter (b. 1930, Democrat)
21-Jan-1995 18-Jan-2003 Don Sundquist (b. 1936, Republican)
18-Jan-2003 15-Jan-2011 Phil Bredesen (b. 1943, Democrat)
15-Jan-2011 -- Bill Haslam (b. 1958, Republican)

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2016 Soylent Communications



Requires Flash 7+ and Javascript.


NNDB has added thousands of bibliographies for people, organizations, schools, and general topics, listing more than 50,000 books and 120,000 other kinds of references. They may be accessed by the "Bibliography" tab at the top of most pages, or via the "Related Topics" box in the sidebar. Please feel free to suggest books that might be critical omissions.