This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for
Governor of Kentucky


4-Jun-1792 7-Jun-1796 Isaac Shelby (1st time, b. 1750, d. 1826, Democrat-Republican)
7-Jun-1796 5-Sep-1804 James Garrard (b. 1749, d. 1822, Democrat-Republican)
5-Sep-1804 1-Sep-1808 Christopher Greenup (b. 1750, d. 1818, Democrat-Republican)
1-Sep-1808 24-Aug-1812 Charles Scott (b. 1739, d. 1813, Democrat-Republican)
24-Aug-1812 5-Sep-1816 Isaac Shelby (2nd time, Democrat-Republican)
5-Sep-1816 19-Oct-1816 George Madison (b. 1763, d. 1816, Democrat-Republican)
19-Oct-1816 7-Sep-1820 Gabriel Slaughter (b. 1767, d. 1830, Democrat-Republican)
7-Sep-1820 24-Aug-1824 John Adair (b. 1757, d. 1840, Democrat-Republican)
24-Aug-1824 26-Aug-1828 Joseph Desha (b. 1768, d. 1842, Democrat-Republican)
26-Aug-1828 4-Sep-1832 Thomas Metcalfe (b. 1780, d. 1855, N-R)
4-Sep-1832 22-Feb-1834 John Breathitt (b. 1786, d. 1834, Democrat)
22-Feb-1834 30-Aug-1836 James T. Morehead (b. 1797, d. 1854, N-R)
30-Aug-1836 12-Sep-1839 James Clark (b. 1779, d. 1839, Whig)
12-Sep-1839 2-Sep-1840 Charles A. Wickliffe (b. 1788, d. 1869, Whig)
2-Sep-1840 4-Sep-1844 Robert P. Letcher (b. 1788, d. 1861, Whig)
4-Sep-1844 6-Sep-1848 William Owsley (b. 1782, d. 1862, Whig)
6-Sep-1848 31-Jul-1850 John J. Crittenden (b. 1787, d. 1863, Whig)
31-Jul-1850 2-Sep-1851 John L. Helm (1st time, b. 1802, d. 1867, Whig)
2-Sep-1851 4-Sep-1855 Lazarus W. Powell (b. 1812, d. 1867, Democrat)
4-Sep-1855 30-Aug-1859 Charles S. Morehead (b. 1802, d. 1868, Know-Nothing)
30-Aug-1859 18-Aug-1862 Beriah Magoffin (b. 1815, d. 1885, Democrat)
Nov-1861 9-Apr-1862 George W. Johnson (Confederate, b. 1811, d. 1862, Democrat)
4-Oct-1862 1865 Richard Hawes (Confederate b. 1797, d. 1877, Democrat)
18-Aug-1862 1-Sep-1863 James F. Robinson (b. 1800, d. 1882, Uni)
1-Sep-1863 3-Sep-1867 Thomas E. Bramlette (b. 1817, d. 1875, Uni)
3-Sep-1867 8-Sep-1867 John L. Helm (2nd time, b. 1802, d. 1867, Democrat)
8-Sep-1867 5-Sep-1871 John W. Stevenson (b. 1812, d. 1886, Democrat)
5-Sep-1871 31-Aug-1875 Preston H. Leslie (b. 1819, d. 1907, Democrat)
31-Aug-1875 2-Sep-1879 James B. McCreary (1st time, b. 1838, d. 1918, Democrat)
2-Sep-1879 5-Sep-1883 Luke P. Blackburn (b. 1816, d. 1887, Democrat)
5-Sep-1883 30-Aug-1887 J. Proctor Knott (b. 1830, d. 1911, Democrat)
30-Aug-1887 2-Sep-1891 Simon B. Buckner (b. 1823, d. 1914, Democrat)
2-Sep-1891 10-Dec-1895 John Young Brown (b. 1835, d. 1904, Democrat)
10-Dec-1895 12-Dec-1899 William O. Bradley (b. 1848, d. 1929, Republican)
12-Dec-1899 31-Jan-1900 William S. Taylor (b. 1853, d. 1928, Republican)
31-Jan-1900 3-Feb-1900 William J. Goebel (b. 1856, d. 1900 assassination, Democrat)
3-Feb-1900 10-Dec-1907 J.C.W. Beckham (b. 1869, d. 1940, Democrat)
10-Dec-1907 12-Dec-1911 Augustus E. Willson (b. 1846, d. 1931, Republican)
12-Dec-1911 7-Dec-1915 James B. McCreary (2nd time, Democrat)
7-Dec-1915 9-Dec-1919 A. Owsley Stanley (b. 1867, d. 1958, Democrat)
9-Dec-1919 11-Dec-1923 Edwin P. Morrow (b. 1878, d. 1935, Republican)
11-Dec-1923 13-Dec-1927 William J. Fields (b. 1874, d. 1954, Democrat)
13-Dec-1927 8-Dec-1931 Flem D. Sampson (b. 1873, d. 1967, Republican)
8-Dec-1931 10-Dec-1935 Ruby Laffoon (b. 1869, d. 1941, Democrat)
10-Dec-1935 12-Dec-1939 Albert "Happy" Chandler (1st time, b. 1898, d. 1991, Democrat)
12-Dec-1939 7-Dec-1943 Keen Johnson (b. 1896, d. 1970, Democrat)
7-Dec-1943 9-Dec-1947 Simeon S. Willis (b. 1879, d. 1965, Republican)
9-Dec-1947 27-Nov-1951 Earle C. Clements (b. 1896, d. 1985, Democrat)
27-Nov-1951 13-Dec-1955 Lawrence W. Wetherby (b. 1908, d. 1984, Democrat)
13-Dec-1955 8-Dec-1959 Albert "Happy" Chandler (2nd time, Democrat)
8-Dec-1959 10-Dec-1963 Bert T. Combs (b. 1911, d. 1991, Democrat)
10-Dec-1963 12-Dec-1967 Ned Breathitt (b. 1924, d. 2003, Democrat)
12-Dec-1967 7-Dec-1971 Louie B. Nunn (b. 1924, d. 2004, Republican)
7-Dec-1971 9-Dec-1975 Wendell H. Ford (b. 1924, Democrat)
9-Dec-1975 11-Dec-1979 Julian Carroll (b. 1931, Democrat)
11-Dec-1979 13-Dec-1983 John Y. Brown, Jr. (b. 1933, Democrat)
13-Dec-1983 8-Dec-1987 Martha Layne Collins (b. 1936, Democrat)
8-Dec-1987 10-Dec-1991 Wallace Wilkinson (b. 1941, d. 2002, Democrat)
10-Dec-1991 12-Dec-1995 Brereton C. Jones (b. 1939, Democrat)
12-Dec-1995 9-Dec-2003 Paul Patton (b. 1937, Democrat)
9-Dec-2003 11-Dec-2007 Ernie Fletcher (b. 1952, Republican)
11-Dec-2007 8-Dec-2015 Steve Beshear (b. 1944, Democrat)
8-Dec-2015 -- Matt Bevin (b. 1967, Republican)

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2016 Soylent Communications


Web Applications Circle

Requires Flash 7+ and Javascript.


NNDB has added thousands of bibliographies for people, organizations, schools, and general topics, listing more than 50,000 books and 120,000 other kinds of references. They may be accessed by the "Bibliography" tab at the top of most pages, or via the "Related Topics" box in the sidebar. Please feel free to suggest books that might be critical omissions.