This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for

Nine Inch Nails


Industrial band, vehicle for Trent Reznor, formed 1988 in Cleveland.

Official Website:

Cleveland, OH

NameOccupationBirthDeathKnown for
Josh Freese
25-Dec-1972   Session drummer
Danny Lohner
13-Dec-1970   Bassist for Nine Inch Nails
Twiggy Ramirez
20-Jun-1971   Bassist for Marilyn Manson, 1994-2002
Trent Reznor
Electronic Musician
17-May-1965   Nine Inch Nails
Chris Vrenna
23-Feb-1967   Drummer for Nine Inch Nails


Down In It (1989, TVT)
1 Down In It (skin)
2 Down In It (shred)
3 Down In It (singe)

Pretty Hate Machine (1989, TVT)
1 Head Like A Hole
2 Terrible Lie
3 Down In It
4 Sanctified
5 Something I Can Never Have
6 Kinda I Want To
7 Sin
8 That's What I Get
9 The Only Time
10 Ringfinger

Head Like A Hole (1990, TVT Records)
1 Head Like a Hole (slate)
2 Head Like a Hole (clay)
3 Terrible Lie (sympathetic mix)
4 Head Like a Hole (copper)
5 You Know Who You Are
6 Head Like a Hole (soil)
7 Terrible Lie (empathetic mix)
8 Down In It (shred)
9 Down In It (singe)
10 Down In It (demo)

Sin (1990, TVT Records)
1 Sin (short)
2 Sin (long)
3 Get Down Make Love (Queen cover)
4 Sin (Dub)

Broken (1992, TVT/Interscope)
1 Pinion
2 Wish
3 Last
4 Help Me I Am In Hell
5 Happiness In Slavery
6 Gave Up
98 Physical (You're So) (Adam Ant cover)
99 Suck

Fixed (1992, TVT/Interscope)
1 Gave Up (remix by Coil)
2 Wish (remix by J. G. Thirlwell)
3 Happiness In Slavery (remix)
4 Throw This Away (remix by Butch Vig)
5 Fist Fuck (remix by J. G. Thirlwell)
6 Screaming Slave

March of the Pigs (1994, Nothing/Interscope)
1 March of the Pigs
2 Reptilian
3 All the Pigs, All Lined Up
4 A Violet Fluid
5 Underneath the Skin

The Downward Spiral (1994, Nothing/Interscope)
1 Mr. Self Destruct
2 Piggy
3 Heresy
4 March of the Pigs
5 Closer
6 Ruiner
7 The Becoming
8 I Do Not Want This
9 Big Man With A Gun
10 A Warm Place
11 Eraser
12 Reptile
13 The Downward Spiral
14 Hurt

"A Warm Place" is modeled on the David Bowie song "Crystal Japan" (1980). Rereleased in 2004 in surround sound, with the following bonus disc:

The Downward Spiral (Deluxe Edition) (23-Nov-2004, Nothing/Interscope)
1 Burn
2 Closer (Precursor)
3 Piggy (Nothing Can Stop Me Now)
4 A Violet Fluid
5 Dead Souls
6 Hurt (Quiet)
7 Closer To God
8 All The Pigs, All Lined Up
9 Memorabilia
10 The Downward Spiral (The Bottom)
11 Ruiner (Demo)
12 Liar (Reptile Demo)
13 Heresy (Demo)

Closer To God (1994, Nothing/Interscope)
1 Closer To God
2 Closer (precursor, by Coil)
3 Closer (deviation, by Meat Beat Manifesto)
4 Heresy (blind, by Skinny Puppy)
5 Memorabilia (Soft Cell cover)
6 Closer (internal)
7 March of the Fuckheads
8 Closer (external)
9 Closer

Remixes by Coil, Meat Beat Manifesto.

Further Down The Spiral (1995, Nothing/Interscope)
1 Piggy (nothing can stop me now)
2 The Art of Self Destruction, Part One
3 Self Destruction, Part Two
4 The Downward Spiral (the bottom)
5 Hurt (quiet)
6 Eraser (denial; realization)
7 At The Heart Of It All (by Aphex Twin)
8 Eraser (polite)
9 Self Destruction, Final
10 The Beauty of Being Numb (Part B by Aphex Twin)
11 Erased, Over, Out

Mostly remixes by Coil.

The Perfect Drug (1997, Nothing/Interscope)
1 The Perfect Drug (Meat Beat Manifesto remix)
2 The Perfect Drug (Plug remix)
3 The Perfect Drug (Nine Inch Nails remix)
4 The Perfect Drug (Spacetime Continuum remix)
5 The Perfect Drug (The Orb remix)

The Day The World Went Away (1999, Nothing/Interscope)
1 The Day The World Went Away
2 Starfuckers, Inc.
3 The Day The World Went Away (Quiet)

The Fragile (1999, Nothing/Interscope)
Disc 1 - Left
1 Somewhat Damaged
2 The Day The World Went Away
3 The Frail
4 The Wretched
5 We're In This Together
6 The Fragile
7 Just Like You Imagined
8 Even Deeper
9 Pilgrimage
10 No, You Don't
11 La Mer
12 The Great Below
Disc 2 - Right
1 The Way Out Is Through
2 Into The Void
3 Where Is Everybody?
4 The Mark Has Been Made
5 Please
6 Starfuckers, Inc.
7 Complication
8 I'm Looking Forward To Joining You Finally
9 The Big Come Down
10 Underneath It All
11 Ripe (With Decay)

We're In This Together (Part 1) (1999, Nothing/Interscope)
1 We're In This Together
2 10 Miles High
3 The New Flesh

We're In This Together (Part 2) (1999, Nothing/Interscope)
1 We're In This Together (radio edit)
2 The Day The World Went Away (quiet)
3 The Day The World Went Away (remix by Porter Ricks)

We're In This Together (Part 3) (1999, Nothing/Interscope)
1 We're In This Together
2 Complications Of The Flesh
3 The Perfect Drug

Things Falling Apart (2000, Nothing/Interscope)
1 Slipping Away
2 The Great Collapse
3 The Wretched (version)
4 Starfuckers, Inc. (version)
5 The Frail (Version)
6 Starfuckers, Inc. (version)
7 Where Is Everybody? (version)
8 Metal (Gary Numan cover)
9 10 Miles High (version)
10 Starfuckers, Inc. (version)

And All That Could Have Been (2002, Nothing/Interscope)
Disc 1 - Live
1 Terrible Lie
2 Sin
3 March Of The Pigs
4 Piggy
5 The Frail
6 The Wretched
7 Gave Up
8 The Great Below
9 The Mark Has Been Made
10 Wish
11 Suck
12 Closer
13 Head Like A Hole
14 The Day The World Went Away
15 Starfuckers, Inc.
16 Hurt
Disc 2 - Still
1 Something I Can Never Have
2 Adrift And At Peace
3 The Fragile
4 The Becoming
5 Gone, Still
6 The Day The World Went Away
7 And All That Could Have Been
8 The Persistence Of Loss
9 Leaving Hope

Originally released separately, with Disc 2 only available on the band's website.

The Hand That Feeds (2005, Nothing/Interscope)
1 The Hand That Feeds
2 The Hand That Feeds (straight mix)
3 The Hand That Feeds (dub mix)

With Teeth (2005, Nothing/Interscope)
1 All the Love in the World
2 You Know What You Are?
3 The Collector
4 The Hand That Feeds
5 Love is Not Enough
6 Every Day is Exactly the Same
7 With Teeth
8 Only
9 Getting Smaller
10 Sunspots
11 The Line Begins to Blur
12 Beside You in Time
13 Right Where It Belongs

Only (2005, Interscope)
1 Only
2 The Hand That Feeds (DFA remix)
3 Love Is Not Enough

Every Day Is Exactly The Same (2006, Interscope)
1 Every Day Is Exactly The Same
2 The Hand That Feeds (DFA Mix)
3 The Hand That Feeds (Straight Mix)
4 Only (El-P Mix)
5 Only (Richard X Mix)
6 Every Day Is Exactly the Same (Sam Fog vs. Carlos D of Interpol Mix)

Survivalism (2007, Interscope)
1 Survivalism
2 Survivalism_Tardusted
3 The Greater Good (Instrumental)
4 Survivalism (Video)

Year Zero (2007, Interscope)
1 Hyperpower!
2 The Beginning of the End
3 Survivalism
4 The Good Soldier
5 Vessel
6 Me, I'm Not
7 Capital G
8 My Violent Heart
9 The Warning
10 God Given
11 Meet Your Master
12 The Greater Good
13 The Great Destroyer
14 Another Version of the Truth
15 In This Twilight
16 Zero-Sum

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2012 Soylent Communications



Requires Flash 7+ and Javascript.


NNDB has added thousands of bibliographies for people, organizations, schools, and general topics, listing more than 50,000 books and 120,000 other kinds of references. They may be accessed by the "Bibliography" tab at the top of most pages, or via the "Related Topics" box in the sidebar. Please feel free to suggest books that might be critical omissions.