This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for

George Mackay Brown

Born: 17-Oct-1921
Birthplace: Stromness, Orkney Islands, Scotland
Died: 13-Apr-1996
Location of death: Kirkwall, Orkney Islands, Scotland
Cause of death: unspecified

Gender: Male
Religion: Roman Catholic
Race or Ethnicity: White
Occupation: Poet, Novelist

Nationality: Scotland
Executive summary: Time in a Red Coat

Father: John Brown
Mother: Mhairi Mackay

    University: Newbattle Abbey College, Newbattle, Midlothian (attended 1951-52)
    University: University of Edinburgh
    University: Moray House College of Education

    Converted to Catholicism 23-Dec-1961
    Risk Factors: Tuberculosis

Author of books:
The Storm (1954, poetry)
Loaves and Fishes (1959, poetry)
The Year of the Whale (1965, poetry)
A Calendar of Love and Other Stories (1967, short stories)
A Time to Keep and Other Stories (1969, short stories)
An Orkney Tapestry (1969)
Fishermen with Ploughs (1971, poetry)
Poems New and Selected (1971, poetry)
Greenvoe (1972, novel)
Magnus (1973, novel)
Hawkfall and Other Stories (1974, short stories)
The Two Fiddlers (1974, juvenile)
Selected Poems (1977, poetry)
Winterfold (1976, poetry)
Under Brinkie's Brae (1979, columns)
Six Lives of Fankle the Cat (1980, juvenile)
Voyages (1983, poetry)
Time in a Red Coat (1984, novel)
Keepers of the House (1986, poetry)
The Wreck of the Archangel (1989, poetry)
Tryst on Egilsay (1989, poetry)
Letters to Gypsy (1990)
In the Margins of a Shakespeare (1991, vignettes)
Brodgar Poems (1992, poetry)
Vinland (1992, novel)
Foresterhill (1992, poetry)
Rockpools and Daffodils: An Orcadian Diary, 1979-91 (1992, diary)
Beside the Ocean of Time (1994, novel)
Winter Tales (1995, short stories)
Following a Lark (1996, poetry)
Water (1996, poetry)
For the Islands I Sing: An Autobiography (1997, memoir)
Northern Lights: A Poet's Sources (1999)
Travellers: Poems (2001, poetry)
The Collected Poems of George Mackay Brown (2005, poetry)

Wrote plays:
A Spell for Green Corn (1970, radio play)
Three Plays: The Loom of Light, The Well, The Voyage of Saint Brandon (1984)
The Girl From the Sea: A Play for Voices (2008)

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2019 Soylent Communications