This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for

Madeleine L'Engle

Madeleine L'EngleAKA Madeleine Camp

Born: 29-Nov-1918
Birthplace: New York City
Died: 6-Sep-2007
Location of death: Litchfield, CT
Cause of death: Natural Causes

Gender: Female
Religion: Christian
Race or Ethnicity: White
Sexual orientation: Straight
Occupation: Author

Nationality: United States
Executive summary: A Wrinkle In Time

Author of many books for children and young adults, as well as books of poetry, plays, and prayers.

Husband: Hugh Franklin (actor, b. 24-Aug-1916, m. 1946, d. 26-Sep-1986, three children)

    High School: Ashley Hall, Charleston, SC
    University: BA English, Smith College (1941)

    World Fantasy Award 1997 Lifetime Achievement
    National Humanities Medal 2004

Author of books:
The Small Rain (1945)
Ilsa (1946)
And Both Were Young (1949)
Camilla Dickinson (1951)
A Winter's Love (1957)
Meet the Austins (1960)
A Wrinkle in Time (1962)
The Moon By Night (1963)
The Twenty-Four Days Before Christmas (1964)
The Arm of the Starfish (1965)
Camilla (1965)
The Love Letters (1966)
The Young Unicorns (1968)
Dance in the Desert (1969)
Lines Scribbled on an Envelope and Other Poems (1969)
The Other Side of the Sun (1971)
A Circle of Quiet (1972)
The Wind in the Door (1973)
Everyday Prayers (1974)
Prayers for Sunday (1974)
The Risk of Birth (1974)
The Summer of the Great Grandmother (1974)
Dragons in the Waters (1976)
The Irrational Season (1977)
A Swiftly Tilting Planet (1978)
The Weather of the Heart (1978)
Ladder of Angels (1979)
The Anti-Muffins (1980)
A Ring of Endless Light (1980)
Walking on Water: Reflections on Faith and Art (1980)
A Severed Wasp (1982)
The Sphinx at Dawn (1982)
And It Was Good: Reflections on Beginnings (1983)
A House Like a Lotus (1984)
Trailing Clouds of Glory: Spiritual Values in Children's Literature (1985, with Avery Brooke)
Many Waters (1986)
A Stone for a Pillow: Journeys with Jacob (1986)
A Cry Like a Bell (1987)
Two-Part Invention (1988)
An Acceptable Time (1989)
Sold Into Egypt: Joseph’s Journey into Human Being (1989)
The Glorious Impossible (1990)
Certain Women (1992)
The Rock That is Higher (1993)
Anytime Prayers (1994)
Troubling a Star (1994)
Glimpses of Grace (1996, with Carole Chase)
A Live Coal in the Sea (1996)
Penguins and Golden Calves: Icons and Idols (1996)
Wintersong (1996, with Luci Shaw)
Bright Evening Star (1997)
Friends for the Journey (1997, with Luci Shaw)
Mothers and Daughters (1997, with Maria Rooney)
Miracle on 10th Street (1998)
A Full House (1999)
Mothers and Sons (1999, with Maria Rooney)
Prayerbook for Spiritual Friends (1999, with Luci Shaw)
The Other Dog (2001)
Madeleine L'Engle Herself: Reflections on a Writing Life (2001, with Carole Chase)

Wrote plays:
18 Washington Square South: A Comedy in One Act (1944)
A Journey With Jonah (1967)

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2019 Soylent Communications