This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for

Larry McMurtry

Larry McMurtryAKA Larry Jeff McMurtry

Born: 3-Jun-1936
Birthplace: Wichita Falls, TX
Died: 25-Mar-2021
Location of death: Archer City, TX
Cause of death: Heart Failure

Gender: Male
Race or Ethnicity: White
Sexual orientation: Straight
Occupation: Novelist

Nationality: United States
Executive summary: Lonesome Dove

Father: William Jefferson McMurtry (rancher)
Mother: Hazel Ruth McIver
Wife: Josephine Ballard (m. 1959, div. 1966, one son)
Son: James McMurtry
Wife: Norma Faye Haxby ("Faye Kesey", widow of Ken Kesey, m. 29-Apr-2011, until his death)

    High School: Archer City High School, Archer City, TX
    University: BA, North Texas State College
    University: MA, Rice University (1960)

    Pulitzer Prize for Fiction 1986 for Lonesome Dove
    Oscar for Best Screenplay (another medium) 2006 for Brokeback Mountain
    Heart Attack 1991
    Heart Bypass Operation quadruple
    Risk Factors: Depression

    Picture This: The Times of Peter Bogdanovich in Archer City, Texas (7-Sep-1991) · Himself

Author of books:
Horseman, Pass By (1961, novel)
Leaving Cheyenne (1963, novel)
The Last Picture Show (1966, novel)
Narrow Grave: Essays on Texas (1968, essays)
Moving On (1970, novel)
All My Friends Are Going to Be Strangers (1972, novel)
Terms of Endearment (1975, novel)
Somebody's Darling (1978, novel)
Cadillac Jack (1982, novel)
The Desert Rose (1983, novel)
Lonesome Dove (1985, novel)
Dead Man's Walk (1985, novel)
Film Flam: Essays on Hollywood (1987, film studies)
Texasville (1987, novel)
Anything for Billy (1988, novel)
Some Can Whistle (1989, novel)
Buffalo Girls (1990, novel)
The Evening Star (1992, novel)
Streets of Laredo (1993, novel)
Pretty Boy Floyd (1994, novel)
The Late Child (1995, novel)
Comanche Moon (1997, novel)
Zeke and Ned (1997, novel)
Crazy Horse (1999, biography)
Walter Benjamin at the Dairy Queen: Reflections at Sixty and Beyond (1999, nonfiction)
Duane's Depressed (1999, novel)
Roads: Driving America's Great Highways (2000, travelogue)
Boone's Lick (2000, novel)
Sacagawea's Nickname: Essays on the American West (2001, essays)
Paradise (2001, travelogue)
Sin Killer (2002, novel)
The Wandering Hill (2003, novel)
By Sorrow's River (2003, novel)
Loop Group (2004, novel)
Folly and Glory (2004, novel)
The Colonel and Little Missie: Buffalo Bill, Annie Oakley, and the Beginnings of Superstardom in America (2005, biography)
Oh What a Slaughter: Massacres in the American West, 1846-1890 (2005, history)
Telegraph Days (2006, novel)
When the Light Goes (2007, novel)
Books: A Memoir (2008, memoir)
Literary Life: A Second Memoir (2009, memoir)
Rhino Ranch (2009, novel)
Hollywood: A Third Memoir (2010, memoir)
Custer (2012, biography)

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2021 Soylent Communications