This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for

Ross Macdonald

Ross MacdonaldAKA Kenneth Millar

Born: 13-Dec-1915
Birthplace: Los Gatos, CA
Died: 11-Jul-1983
Location of death: Santa Barbara, CA [1]
Cause of death: Alzheimer's
Remains: Cremated (ashes scattered at sea)

Gender: Male
Race or Ethnicity: White
Sexual orientation: Straight
Occupation: Novelist

Nationality: United States
Executive summary: Creator of P.I. Lew Archer

Military service: US Naval Reserve (1944-46)

A resident of Canada until 1941, and after then, of California. His novels prior to 1949 were written under his real name, Kenneth Millar. His well-crafted Lew Archer novels are of a much higher caliber than normally found in the detective pulp-novel genre.

[1] Pinecrest Hospital, Santa Barbara, CA

Father: John Macdonald Millar ("Jack", d. 1932)
Mother: Annie Moyer (d. brain cancer)
Wife: Margaret Ellis Sturm (m. 2-Jun-1938, until his death)
Daughter: Linda Jane Millar (b. 1939, d. Nov-1970)

    High School: Kitchener-Waterloo Collegiate Institute
BA, University of Western Ontario (1938)
    University: University of Toronto
    Teacher: Kitchener-Waterloo Collegiate Institute
    Teacher: University of Michigan
    University: PhD, University of Michigan (1951)
    Professor: Santa Barbara City College

    Mystery Writers of America President (1965)
    Phi Beta Kappa Society
    Traveled to Nazi Germany 1938
    Took the Fifth grand jury testimony, daughter's vehicular manslaughter case, Santa Barbara, CA (1956)
    Nervous Breakdown 1956
    Canadian Ancestry
    Risk Factors: Former Smoker

Author of books:
The Dark Tunnel (1944, novel)
Trouble Follows Me (1946, novel)
Blue City (1947, novel)
The Three Roads (1948, novel)
The Moving Target (1949, novel, Lew Archer)
The Drowning Pool (1950, novel, Lew Archer)
The Way Some People Die (1951, novel, Lew Archer)
The Ivory Grin (1952, novel, Lew Archer)
Find a Victim (1954, novel, Lew Archer)
The Name Is Archer (1955, novel, Lew Archer)
The Barbarous Coast (1956, novel, Lew Archer)
The Doomsters (1958, novel, Lew Archer)
The Galton Case (1959, novel, Lew Archer)
The Wycherly Woman (1961, novel, Lew Archer)
The Zebra-Striped Hearse (1962, novel, Lew Archer)
The Chill (1964, novel, Lew Archer)
The Far Side of the Dollar (1965, novel, Lew Archer)
Black Money (1966, novel, Lew Archer)
Archer in Hollywood (1967, novel, Lew Archer)
The Instant Enemy (1968, novel, Lew Archer)
The Goodbye Look (1969, novel, Lew Archer)
The Underground Man (1971, novel, Lew Archer)
Sleeping Beauty (1973, novel, Lew Archer)
The Blue Hammer (1976, novel, Lew Archer)

Create a map starting with Ross Macdonald
Requires Flash 7+ and Javascript.

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2019 Soylent Communications