This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for

Suzanne Collins

Born: 11-Aug-1962
Birthplace: Hartford, CT

Gender: Female
Race or Ethnicity: White
Sexual orientation: Straight
Occupation: Novelist

Nationality: United States
Executive summary: The Hunger Games

Suzanne Collins is a former writer for children's television shows, and her first book for children was Fire Proof, set in the world of the Nickelodeon TV series The Mystery Files of Shelby Woo. She made her name with the five-part Underland Chronicles series of children's novels, which she has described as Alice in Wonderland with an urban setting. This was followed by her most popular books, the Hunger Games trilogy.

Ostensibly written for teenagers but also popular among adults, The Hunger Games and its sequels follow two teenaged protagonists in a dystopian future where America has been succeeded by a totalitarian nation called Panem. The "Games" of the title refers to an annual ritual in which two dozen children are selected at random and forced to engage in a televised competition to the death. The subsequent novels in the series, Catching Fire and Mockingjay, delve into the effects of the Games on its surviving "champions," with writing that deftly and intelligently questions both authority and the rebellion against authority, while the books remain effective page-turning thrillers. Collins has said that the original idea for The Hunger Games came while she was watching television, changing channels back and forth between a reality show and news coverage of the Iraq War.

Father: Michael Collins
Mother: Jane Collins
Husband: Charles Pryor ("Cap", two children)

    High School: Alabama School of Fine Arts, Birmingham, AL
    University: BA Drama, Indiana University
    University: MFA Dramatic Arts, New York University

    Clarissa Explains It All Writer

Official Website:

Author of books:
Fire Proof (1999, juvenile novel)
Gregor the Overlander (2003, juvenile novel)
Gregor and the Prophecy of Bane (2004, juvenile novel)
Gregor and the Curse of the Warmbloods (2005, juvenile novel)
When Charlie McButton Lost Power (2005, juvenile picture book)
Gregor and the Marks of Secret (2006, juvenile novel)
Gregor and the Code of Claw (2007, juvenile novel)
The Hunger Games (2008, "young adult" novel)
Catching Fire (2009, Hunger Games sequel)
12 (2009, juvenile novel, in collaboration with other writers)
Mockingjay (2010, Hunger Games sequel)

Create a map starting with Suzanne Collins
Requires Flash 7+ and Javascript.

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2019 Soylent Communications