This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for

Ovid Demaris

AKA Ovide E. Desmarais

Born: 6-Sep-1919
Birthplace: Biddeford, ME
Died: 12-Mar-1998
Location of death: Biddeford, ME
Cause of death: unspecified

Gender: Male
Race or Ethnicity: White
Sexual orientation: Straight
Occupation: Author

Nationality: United States
Executive summary: The Last Mafioso

Wife: Inez E. Frakes (m. 15-May-1942)

    University: AB, College of Idaho (1948)
    Law School: Syracuse University Law School
    University: MS, Boston University (1950)

Author of books:
The Slasher (1956)
Ride the Gold Mare (1957)
The Hoods Take Over (1957)
The Lusting Drive (1958)
The Long Night (1959)
The Gold-Plated Sewer (1960)
The Enforcer (1960)
The Extortioners (1960)
Candyleg (1961)
Machine Gun McCain (1961)
The Lindbergh Kidnapping Case: The True Story of the Crime That Shocked the World (1961)
The Parasite (1962)
The Green Felt Jungle: Truth About Las Vegas (1963)
The Organization (1964, also released as "The Contract")
Jack Ruby: The Man Who Killed the Man Who Killed Kennedy (1968, with Garry Wills)
Captive City: Chicago in Chains (1969)
The Lucky Luciano Story (1969)
Poso Del Mundo: Inside the Mexican-American Border, From Tijuana to Matamoros (1970)
America the Violent (1970)
The Overlord (1972)
Dillinger (1973)
Dirty Business: The Corporate-Political Money-Power Game (1974)
The Director: An Oral Biography of J. Edgar Hoover (1975)
Brothers in Blood: The International Terrorist Network (1977)
The Last Mafioso: The Treacherous World of Jimmy Fratianno (1980)
The Vegas Legacy (1983)
The Boardwalk Jungle (1986)
Ricochet (1988)
Lincoln at Gettysburg: The Words That Remade America (1992, with Garry Wills)

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2019 Soylent Communications