This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for

Ngaio Marsh

Ngaio MarshAKA Edith Ngaio Marsh

Born: 23-Apr-1895 [1]
Birthplace: Christchurch, New Zealand
Died: 18-Feb-1982
Location of death: Christchurch, New Zealand
Cause of death: unspecified
Remains: Buried, Church of the Holy Innocents, Geraldine, New Zealand

Gender: Female
Race or Ethnicity: White
Occupation: Novelist

Nationality: New Zealand
Executive summary: New Zealand detective novelist

[1] A spurious birth date of 1899 was assigned to her by her father.

    Dame of the British Empire 1966

Author of books:
A Man Lay Dead (1934, novel)
Enter a Murderer (1935, novel)
The Nursing Home Murder (1935, novel)
Death in Ecstasy (1936, novel)
Vintage Murder (1937, novel)
Artists in Crime (1938, novel)
Death in a White Tie (1938, novel)
Overture to Death (1939, novel)
Death at the Bar (1940, novel)
Surfeit of Lampreys (1941, novel)
Death and the Dancing Footman (1942, novel)
Colour Scheme (1943, novel)
Died in the Wool (1945, novel)
Final Curtain (1947, novel)
Swing Brother Swing (1949, novel)
Opening Night (1951, novel)
Spinsters in Jeopardy (1954, novel)
Scales of Justice (1955, novel)
Off With His Head (1957, novel)
Singing in the Shrouds (1959, novel)
False Scent (1960, novel)
Hand in Glove (1962, novel)
Dead Water (1964, novel)
Black Beech and Honeydew (1965, memoir)
Death at the Dolphin (1967, novel)
Clutch of Constables (1968, novel)
When in Rome (1970, novel)
Tied Up in Tinsel (1972, novel)
Black As He's Painted (1974, novel)
Last Ditch (1977, novel)
Grave Mistake (1978, novel)
Photo Finish (1980, novel)
Light Thickens (1982, novel)

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2019 Soylent Communications