This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for

Reynolds Price

Reynolds PriceAKA Edward Reynolds Price

Born: 1-Feb-1933
Birthplace: Macon, NC
Died: 20-Jan-2011
Location of death: Durham, NC
Cause of death: Heart Failure

Gender: Male
Race or Ethnicity: White
Sexual orientation: Gay [1]
Occupation: Author

Nationality: United States
Executive summary: A Long and Happy Life

Wrote dozens of novels, mostly set in his native North Carolina. Taught at Duke for decades, where his students included Josephine Humphreys. Toward the end, spinal cancer left him a paraplegic.

[1] Came out in his last book, 2009's Ardent Spirits: Leaving Home, Coming Back. Said he had been reluctant to mention his sexuality before then, because "I wanted to be very careful about not invading anyone else's privacy or making anyone more unhappy than seemed necessary."

Brother: Will

    University: BA, Duke University (1955)
    University: B Litt, Merton College, Oxford University (1958)
    Professor: Duke University

    American Academy of Arts and Letters
    National Book Critics Circle Award 1986 for Kate Vaiden
    Rhodes Scholarship

Author of books:
A Long and Happy Life (1962, novel)
The Names and Faces of Heroes (1963, short stories)
A Generous Man (1966, novel)
Love and Work (1968, novel)
Permanent Errors (1970)
Things Themselves (1972)
The Surface of Earth (1975, novel, A Great Circle)
Early Dark (1977)
A Palpable God (1978, biblical translations)
The Source of Light (1981, novel, A Great Circle)
Vital Provisions (1982, poetry)
Mustian (1983)
Kate Vaiden (1986, novel)
The Laws of Ice (1986, poetry)
A Common Room (1987)
Good Hearts (1988, novel)
Clear Pictures (1989, memoir)
The Tongues of Angels (1990, novel)
The Use of Fire (1990, poetry)
New Music (1990, drama)
The Foreseeable Future (1991, short stories)
Blue Calhoun (1992)
The Collected Stories (1993, short stories)
A Whole New Life (1994, memoir)
The Promise of Rest (1995, novel, A Great Circle)
Three Gospels (1996, biblical translations)
The Collected Poems (1997, poetry)
Roxanna Slade (1998)
Letter to a Man in the Fire: Does God Exist and Does He Care? (1999, essay)
Feasting the Heart (2000, essays)
Learning a Trade: A Craftsman's Notebooks, 1955-1997 (2000)
A Perfect Friend (2000, juvenile)
Noble Norfleet (2002)
A Serious Way of Wondering: The Ethics of Jesus Imagined (2003)
The Good Priest's Son (2005)
Ardent Spirits: Leaving Home, Coming Back (2009)

Wrote plays:
Private Contentment (1984, television play)
Full Moon (1993)

Create a map starting with Reynolds Price
Requires Flash 7+ and Javascript.

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2019 Soylent Communications