This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for

David Caute

AKA John David Caute

Born: 16-Dec-1936
Birthplace: Alexandria, Egypt

Gender: Male
Race or Ethnicity: White
Sexual orientation: Straight
Occupation: Author

Nationality: England
Executive summary: Comrade Jacob

Military service: British Army (1955-56, Africa)

Father: Edward Caute
Mother: Rebecca
Wife: Catherine Shuckburgh (m. 1961, div. 1970, two sons)
Son: Daniel
Son: Edward
Wife: Martha Bates (m. 1973, two daughters)
Daughter: Rebecca
Daughter: Anna

    High School: Edinburgh Academy
    High School: Wellington College
    University: MA Modern History, Wadham College, Oxford University
    University: DPhil, St. Antony's College, Oxford University (1963)
    University: Harvard University (1960-61, as a Henry Fellow)
    Professor: Fellow, All Souls College, Oxford University (1959-65)
    Teacher: Reader in Social and Political Theory, Brunel University (1967-70)

    The New Statesman Literary/Arts Editor (1979-80)

Author of books:
At Fever Pitch (1959, novel)
Comrade Jacob (1961, novel)
Communism and the French Intellectuals, 1914-1960 (1964, politics)
The Decline of the West (1966, novel)
The Left in Europe since 1789 (1966, politics)
Frantz Fanon (1970, biography)
The Occupation (1971, novel)
The Illusion: An Essay on Politics, Theatre and the Novel (1971, politics)
The Fellow-Travellers (1973)
Collisions: Essays and Reviews (1974, essays)
Cuba, Yes? (1974)
The Baby Sitters (1978, novel, as John Salisbury)
The Great Fear: The Anti-Communist Purge under Truman and Eisenhower (1978, politics)
Moscow Gold (1980, novel, as John Salisbury)
Under the Skin: The Death of White Rhodesia (1983)
The K-Factor (1983, novel)
News from Nowhere (1986, novel)
The Espionage of the Saints: Two Essays on Silence and the State (1986)
Left Behind: Journeys into British Politics (1987, politics)
Sixty-Eight: The Year of the Barricades (1988)
Veronica; or, The Two Nations (1990, novel)
The Women's Hour (1991, novel)
Dr. Orwell and Mr. Blair (1994, novel)
Joseph Losey: A Revenge on Life (1994, biography)
Fatima's Scarf (1998, novel)
The Dancer Defects (2003)

Create a map starting with David Caute
Requires Flash 7+ and Javascript.

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2019 Soylent Communications