This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for

Irvin S. Cobb

Irvin S. CobbAKA Irvin Shrewsbury Cobb

Born: 23-Jun-1876
Birthplace: Paducah, KY
Died: 10-Mar-1944
Location of death: New York City
Cause of death: unspecified
Remains: Cremated, Oak Grove Cemetery, Paducah, KY

Gender: Male
Race or Ethnicity: White
Sexual orientation: Straight
Occupation: Author

Nationality: United States
Executive summary: Old Judge Priest

Wife: Laura Spacer Baker (m. 12-Jun1900, until his death, one child)

    Cosmopolitan (1922-32)
    The Saturday Evening Post (1911-22)
    New York Evening World Columnist (1905-11)
    The New York Evening Sun (1904-05)
    Paducah Daily Democrat Managing Editor (1901-04)
    Louisville Evening Post Columnist
    The Cincinnati Post Columnist (1898)
    Paducah Daily News to Managing Editor
    America First Committee
    Dutch Treat Club (1920-38)

    The Young in Heart (3-Nov-1938)
    Steamboat Round The Bend (6-Sep-1935) · Capt. Eli

Author of books:
Back Home (1912, short stories)
Cobb's Anatomy (1912)
The Escape of Mr. Trimm: His Plight and Other Plights (1913, short stories)
Cobb's Bill of Fare (1913)
Old Judge Priest (1915, short stories)
The Red Glutton With The German Army At The Front (1915)
Speaking of Operations (1915)
Paths of Glory (1915)
Fibble, D. D.! (1916)
Speaking of Prussians (1917)
The Glory of the Coming (1918)
The Life of the Party (1919)
From Place to Place (1920)
The Abandoned Farmers (1920)
From Place to Place: Stories About Ourselves (1920, short stories)
A Plea for Old Cap Collier (1921)
J. Poindexter, Colored. (1922, novel)
Stickfuls: Compositions of a Newspaper Minion (1923)
Kansas, Shall We Civilize Her or Let Her Civilize Us? (1924)
Many Laughs for Many Days: Another Year's Supply (365) of His Favorite Stories as Told By Irving S. Cobb (1925)
Here Comes the Bride (1925)
Alias Ben Alibi (1925)
Prose and Cons (1926, short stories)
On an Island That Cost $24.00 (1926)
Chivalry Peak (1927, novel)
Red Likker: A Novel Of Old and New Kentucky (1929, novel)
This Man's World (1929)
Incredible Truth (1931)
Down Yonder with Judge Priest (1932)
Murder Day by Day (1933)
One Way to Stop a Panic (1933, short stories)
Faith, Hope, and Charity (1934, short stories)
Judge Priest Turns Detective (1937)
Exit Laughing: The Autobiography of Irvin S. Cobb (1941, autobiography)

Create a map starting with Irvin S. Cobb
Requires Flash 7+ and Javascript.

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2019 Soylent Communications