This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for

John Burroughs

John BurroughsBorn: 3-Apr-1837
Birthplace: Roxbury, NY
Died: 29-Mar-1921
Location of death: (train)
Cause of death: unspecified
Remains: Buried, Boyhood Rock, Old Clump Mountain, NY

Gender: Male
Race or Ethnicity: White
Sexual orientation: Straight
Occupation: Naturalist, Author

Nationality: United States
Executive summary: Birds and Poets

American poet and writer on natural history, was born in Roxbury, Delaware county, New York, on the 3rd of April 1837. In his earlier years he engaged in various pursuits -- teaching, journalism, farming and fruit raising, and for nine years was a clerk in the treasury department at Washington. After publishing in 1867 a volume of Notes on Walt Whitman as poet and person (a subject to which he returned in 1896 with his Whitman: a Study), he began in 1871, with Wake-Robin, a series of books on birds, flowers and rural scenes which has made him the successor of Henry David Thoreau as a popular essayist on the plants and animals environing human life. His later writings showed a more philosophic mood and a greater disposition towards literary or meditative allusion than their predecessors, but the general theme and method remained the same. His chief books, in addition to Wake-Robin, are Birds and Poets (1877), Locusts and Wild Honey (1879), Signs and Seasons (1886), and Ways of Nature (1905); these are in prose, but he wrote much also in verse, a volume of poems, Bird and Bough, being published in 1906. Winter Sunshine (1875) and Fresh Fields (1884) are sketches of travel in England and France.

Father: Chauncey A. Burroughs
Mother: Amy Kelly
Wife: Ursula North (b. 1836, m. 12-Sep-1857, d. 1917)
Son: Julian Burroughs (b. 1878, d. 15-Dec-1954)

Author of books:
Notes on Walt Whitman as Poet and Person (1867)
Wake-Robin (1871)
Winter Sunshine (1875)
Birds and Poets (1877)
Locusts and Wild Honey (1879)
Pepacton (1881)
Fresh Fields (1884)
Signs and Seasons (1886)
Riverby (1894)
Whitman: A Study (1896)
The Light of Day (1900)
Literary Values (1902)
Far and Near (1904)
Ways of Nature (1905)
Bird and Bough (1906, poetry)
Camping and Tramping with Roosevelt (1906)
Leaf and Tendrill (1908)
Time and Change (1912)
The Summit of the Years (1913)
The Breath of Life (1915)
Under the Apple-Trees (1916)
Field and Study (1919)
Accepting the Universe (1920)
Under the Maples (1921)
The Last Harvest (1922)

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2019 Soylent Communications