This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for

J. Hans D. Jensen

J. Hans D. JensenAKA Johannes Hans Daniel Jensen

Born: 25-Jun-1907
Birthplace: Hamburg, Germany
Died: 11-Feb-1973
Location of death: Heidelberg, Germany
Cause of death: unspecified

Gender: Male
Race or Ethnicity: White
Occupation: Physicist

Nationality: Germany
Executive summary: Shell nuclear model

German physicist Johannes Hans Daniel Jensen devised the shell nuclear model in 1949, showing that the atomic nucleus is an elegant structure of onion-like layers or concentric shells, each of a different radius and each populated with rotating neutrons and protons. He won the Nobel Prize for Physics in 1963, sharing the award with American scientist Maria Goeppert-Mayer, who simultaneously but independently reached the same conclusion, and with Eugene Wigner, author of the law of conservation of parity. After making their discovery but before winning their Nobels, Jensen and Goeppert-Mayer co-authored Elementary Theory of Nuclear Shell Structure, a book explaining their findings. He never married.

Father: Karl Jensen (gardener)
Mother: Helene Ohm Jensen

    University: University of Freiburg
    University: PhD Natural Science, University of Hamburg (1932)
    Scholar: DSc Physics, University of Hamburg (1936)
    Teacher: Physics, University of Hanover (1937-41)
    Professor: Theoretical Physics, University of Hanover (1941-49)
    Professor: Physics, University of Heidelberg (1949-69)
    Professor: Visiting Prof., University of Wisconsin at Madison (1951)
    Professor: Visiting Prof., University of California at Berkeley (1952)
    Professor: Visiting Prof., California Institute of Technology (1953)
    Professor: Visiting Prof., Indiana University (1953)
    Professor: Visiting Prof., University of Minnesota (1956)
    Professor: Visiting Prof., University of California at San Diego (1961)
    Administrator: Dean of Faculty, University of Heidelberg (1955-69)

    Heidelberg Academy of Sciences and Humanities 1947
    Institute for Advanced Study 1952
    Max Planck Society for the Advancement of Science 1960
    Nobel Prize for Physics 1963 (with Eugene Wigner, Maria Goeppert-Mayer)
    German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina 1964
    German Physical Society
    Zeitschrift für Physik (Journal of Physics) Co-Editor (with Otto Haxel), 1955-73
    German Ancestry

Author of books:
Elementary Theory of Nuclear Shell Structure (1955, with Maria Goeppert-Mayer)

Create a map starting with J. Hans D. Jensen
Requires Flash 7+ and Javascript.

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2019 Soylent Communications