This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for
White House Chief of Staff


See also White House Deputy Chief of Staff and White House Staff.

1946 1952 John R. Steelman under Harry S. Truman
1953 1958 Sherman Adams under Dwight D. Eisenhower
1958 1961 Wilton B. Persons under Dwight D. Eisenhower
1969 1973 H. R. Haldeman under Richard M. Nixon
1973 1974 Alexander Haig under Richard M. Nixon
1974 1975 Donald Rumsfeld under Gerald Ford
1975 1977 Dick Cheney under Gerald Ford
1979 1980 Hamilton Jordan under Jimmy Carter
1980 1981 Jack Watson under Jimmy Carter
1981 1985 James Baker under Ronald Reagan
1985 1987 Donald Regan under Ronald Reagan
1987 1988 Howard Baker under Ronald Reagan
1988 1989 Ken Duberstein under Ronald Reagan
1989 1991 John H. Sununu under George H.W. Bush
1991 1992 Samuel K. Skinner under George H.W. Bush
1992 1993 James Baker under George H.W. Bush
1993 1994 Mack McLarty under Bill Clinton
1994 1997 Leon Panetta under Bill Clinton
1997 1998 Erskine Bowles under Bill Clinton
1998 2001 John Podesta under Bill Clinton
2001 2006 Andrew Card under George W. Bush
2006 2009 Josh Bolten under George W. Bush
2009 2010 Rahm Emanuel under Barack Obama
2011 2012 William M. Daley under Barack Obama
2012 2013 Jacob J. Lew under Barack Obama
2013 -- Denis McDonough under Barack Obama

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2016 Soylent Communications


NNDB has added thousands of bibliographies for people, organizations, schools, and general topics, listing more than 50,000 books and 120,000 other kinds of references. They may be accessed by the "Bibliography" tab at the top of most pages, or via the "Related Topics" box in the sidebar. Please feel free to suggest books that might be critical omissions.