This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for
US Under Secretary of State


Second-in-command to the US Secretary of State. This position was superceded by US Deputy Secretary of State in 1972.

01-Jul-1919 15-Jun-1920 Frank Lyon Polk  
15-Jun-1920 07-Mar-1921 Norman H. Davis  
08-Mar-1921 06-Mar-1922 Henry P. Fletcher  
26-Apr-1922 11-Apr-1924 William Phillips  
16-Apr-1924 30-Jun-1927 Joseph Grew  
01-Jul-1927 30-Jun-1928 Robert E. Olds  
31-Aug-1928 19-Jun-1929 J. Reuben Clark, Jr.  
20-Jun-1929 10-Mar-1931 Joseph P. Cotton  
02-Apr-1931 05-Mar-1933 William R. Castle, Jr.  
06-Mar-1933 23-Aug-1936 William Phillips  
21-May-1937 30-Sep-1943 Sumner Welles  
04-Oct-1943 30-Nov-1944 Edward Stettinius, Jr.  
20-Dec-1944 15-Aug-1945 Joseph Grew  
16-Aug-1945 30-Jun-1947 Dean Acheson  
01-Jul-1947 20-Jan-1949 Robert A. Lovett  
28-Jan-1949 29-Feb-1952 James E. Webb  
01-Apr-1952 20-Jan-1953 David K. E. Bruce  
09-Feb-1953 01-Oct-1954 Walter Bedell Smith  
04-Oct-1954 05-Feb-1957 Herbert Hoover, Jr.  
21-Feb-1957 22-Apr-1959 Christian Herter  
12-Jun-1959 04-Jan-1961 C. Douglas Dillon  
25-Jan-1961 03-Dec-1961 Chester Bowles  
04-Dec-1961 30-Sep-1966 George W. Ball  
03-Oct-1966 20-Jan-1969 Nicholas Katzenbach  
23-Jan-1969 23-Jun-1970 Elliot Richardson  
21-Sep-1970 12-Jul-1972 John N. Irwin II Continued as US Deputy Secretary of State

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2016 Soylent Communications


Anglo-American Power Axes

Requires Flash 7+ and Javascript.


NNDB has added thousands of bibliographies for people, organizations, schools, and general topics, listing more than 50,000 books and 120,000 other kinds of references. They may be accessed by the "Bibliography" tab at the top of most pages, or via the "Related Topics" box in the sidebar. Please feel free to suggest books that might be critical omissions.