This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for
Governor of Louisiana


20-Dec-1803 16-Dec-1816 William Charles Coles Claiborne Democrat-Republican
16-Dec-1816 17-Dec-1820 Jacques Philipps Villeré Democrat-Republican
18-Dec-1820 15-Nov-1824 Thomas Bolling Robertson Democrat-Republican
15-Nov-1824 13-Dec-1824 Henry Schuyler Thibodeaux acting, Democrat-Republican
13-Dec-1824 15-Dec-1828 Henry Johnson N-R
15-Dec-1828 6-Oct-1829 Pierre Auguste C. Bourgignon Derbigny N-R
6-Oct-1829 14-Jan-1830 Armand Beauvais acting, N-R
14-Jan-1830 31-Jan-1831 Jacques Dupré N-R
31-Jan-1831 4-Feb-1835 André Bienvenu Roman 1st time, Whig
4-Feb-1835 4-Feb-1839 Edward Douglas White Whig
4-Feb-1839 30-Jan-1843 André Bienvenu Roman 2nd time, Whig
30-Jan-1843 11-Feb-1846 Alexander Mouton Democrat
12-Feb-1846 27-Jan-1850 Isaac Johnson Democrat
28-Jan-1850 15-Jan-1853 Joseph Marshall Walker Democrat
18-Jan-1853 21-Jan-1856 Paul Octave Hébert Democrat
22-Jan-1856 22-Jan-1860 Robert Charles Wickliffe Democrat
23-Jan-1860 25-Jan-1864 Thomas Overton Moore Democrat
2-Jul-1862 4-Mar-1864 George Foster Shepley Military Governor, Republican
25-Jan-1864 2-Jun-1865 Henry Watkins Allen Confederate, Democrat
4-Mar-1864 4-Mar-1865 Michael Georg Decker Hahn Military Governor, Republican
4-Mar-1865 3-Jun-1867 James Madison Wells Republican
3-Jun-1867 8-Jan-1868 Benjamin Flanders Military Governor, Republican
8-Jan-1868 27-Jun-1868 Joshua Baker Military Governor, Republican
27-Jun-1868 9-Dec-1872 Henry Clay Warmoth Republican
9-Dec-1872 13-Jan-1873 P. B. S. Pinchback acting, Republican
13-Jan-1873 5-Jan-1877 William Pitt Kellogg Republican
13-Jan-1873 22-May-1873 John McEnery schism, Democrat
8-Jan-1877 13-Jan-1880 Francis Tillou Nicholls 1st time, Democrat
14-Jan-1880 16-Oct-1881 Louis Alfred Wiltz Democrat
16-Oct-1881 20-May-1888 Samuel Douglas McEnery Democrat
21-May-1888 10-May-1892 Francis Tillou Nicholls 2nd time, Democrat
10-May-1892 8-May-1900 Murphy J. Foster Democrat
8-May-1900 10-May-1904 William Wright Heard Democrat
10-May-1904 12-May-1908 Newton Crain Blanchard Democrat
12-May-1908 14-May-1912 Jared Young Sanders Democrat
14-May-1912 9-May-1916 Luther Egbert Hall Democrat
9-May-1916 11-May-1920 Ruffin Golson Pleasant Democrat
11-May-1920 13-May-1924 John Milliken Parker Democrat
13-May-1924 11-Oct-1926 Henry Fuqua Democrat
11-Oct-1926 21-May-1928 Oramel Hinckley Simpson Democrat
21-May-1928 25-Jan-1932 Huey Long Democrat
25-Jan-1932 10-May-1932 Alvin Olin King Democrat
10-May-1932 28-Jan-1936 Oscar Kelly Allen Democrat
28-Jan-1936 12-May-1936 James Albert Noe Democrat
12-May-1936 26-Jun-1939 Richard Webster Leche Democrat
26-Jun-1939 14-May-1940 Earl Long 1st time, Democrat
14-May-1940 9-May-1944 Sam Houston Jones Democrat
9-May-1944 11-May-1948 Jimmie Davis 1st time, Democrat
11-May-1948 13-May-1952 Earl Long 2nd time, Democrat
13-May-1952 8-May-1956 Robert Floyd Kennon Democrat
8-May-1956 10-May-1960 Earl Long 3rd time, Democrat
10-May-1960 12-May-1964 Jimmie Davis 2nd time, Democrat
12-May-1964 9-May-1972 John J. McKeithen Democrat
9-May-1972 10-Mar-1980 Edwin Edwards 1st time, Democrat
10-Mar-1980 12-Mar-1984 David C. Treen Republican
12-Mar-1984 14-Mar-1988 Edwin Edwards 2nd time, Democrat
14-Mar-1988 8-Jan-1992 Buddy Roemer Democrat, then Republican
8-Jan-1992 8-Jan-1996 Edwin Edwards 3rd time, Democrat
8-Jan-1996 12-Jan-2004 Murphy J. Foster, Jr. Republican
12-Jan-2004 14-Jan-2008 Kathleen Blanco Democrat
14-Jan-2008 11-Jan-2016 Bobby Jindal Republican
11-Jan-2016 -- John Bel Edwards Democrat

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2016 Soylent Communications


From JFK to 9-11

Requires Flash 7+ and Javascript.


NNDB has added thousands of bibliographies for people, organizations, schools, and general topics, listing more than 50,000 books and 120,000 other kinds of references. They may be accessed by the "Bibliography" tab at the top of most pages, or via the "Related Topics" box in the sidebar. Please feel free to suggest books that might be critical omissions.