This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for

Elena Poniatowska

Elena PoniatowskaAKA Helene Elizabeth Louise Amelie Paula Dolores Poniatowska Amor Nacio

Born: 19-May-1932
Birthplace: Paris, France

Gender: Female
Religion: Roman Catholic
Race or Ethnicity: Multiracial
Sexual orientation: Straight
Occupation: Journalist, Author

Nationality: Mexico
Executive summary: Mexican feminist writer, journalist

Born in Paris, she fled Europe during World War II to Mexico with her family as a child. She founded the newspaper La Jornada and the first Mexican feminist magazine, Fem.

She published the definitive book on the 1968 Tlateloco Plaza Massacre, the Mexican government's own Tiananmen Square where army troops gunned down over 250 protesting students ten days before Mexico City's hosting of the Olympics. This book of interviews, La noche de Tlatelolco, is one of the best examples of the "testimonial writing" genre, born out of the revolutions and atrocities of Latin America's 50s and 60s.

She became the first woman to win Mexico's National Award for Journalism in 1979. Her husband was the astronomer Guillermo Haro.

Father: Yvan Evremont Poniatowski Sperry (Polish, French heir to the crown of Poland, d. 1979)
Mother: Paulette Amor Iturbide (daughter of Mexican nobility, b. 1913)
Sister: Sofia
Brother: Jan (b. 1947, d. 1968 automobile crash)
Husband: Guillermo Haro (astrophysicist, m. 1968, two children)
Son: Emmanuel (b. 1955)
Son: Felipe
Daughter: Paula

    University: Manhattanville College, New York, NY (1950s)
    University: Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México

    Naturalized Mexican Citizen 1969
    Guggenheim Fellowship 1994
    French Legion of Honor 2004
    Polish Ancestry
    Mexican Ancestry
    French Ancestry

    Hecho en México (21-Sep-2012)

Author of books:
Lilus Kikus (1954, short stories)
Todo empezo en domingo (1960)
Hasta no verte Jesús mío (1969, novel)
La noche de Tlatelolco (1971)
Querido Diego, te abraza Quiela (1978)
Gaby Brimmer (1979)
De noche vienes (1979, short stories)
Fuerte es el silencio (1980)
El ultimo guajolote (1982)
La flor de lis (1988, novel)
Nada, nadie (1988)
Tinísima (1991, Novel)
Frida Kahlo: The Camera Seduced (1992)
La piel del cielo (2001, novel)
Tlapalería (2003, short stories)

Create a map starting with Elena Poniatowska
Requires Flash 7+ and Javascript.

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2019 Soylent Communications